George Shearing MPS Trio Sessions (4-CD Box Set)

MPS Trio Sessions (4-CD Box Set)
2 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Sale: $67.48
SUPER SAVINGS: $61.34 Limited Time Only
List Price: $74.98
You Save: $13.64 (18% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  36W39
Brand New

Related products:

  • by Joe Pass / Niels-Henning Orsted Pedersen ~ Chops $10.61

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: Verve

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $0.991.Tricotism
  • Buy for $0.992.Windows
  • Buy for $0.993.No Moon at All
  • Buy for $0.994.Some Other Spring
  • Buy for $0.995.Wait Till You See Her
  • Buy for $0.996.Tune Up
  • Buy for $0.997.The Party's Over
  • Buy for $0.998.The Lamp Is Low
  • Buy for $0.999.Lazy Afternoon
  • Buy for $0.9910.Cowboy Samba
  • Buy for $0.9911.Cheryl
  • Buy for $0.9912.5000 Miles High
  • Buy for $0.9913.I Wished on the Moon
  • Buy for $0.9914.Old Folks

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Jordu
  • 2.P.S. I Love You
  • 3.Everything Happens to Me
  • 4.Here's That Rainy Day
  • 5.Invitation
  • 6.In Your Own Sweet Way
  • 7.Alice in Wonderland
  • 8.All This and Heaven Too
  • 9.No Greater Love
  • 10.Con Alma

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.The Fourth Deuce
  • 2.The Wine of May
  • 3.Don't Get Around Much Anymore
  • 4.Consternation
  • 5.Sweet and Lovely
  • 6.My Little Anna
  • 7.Sweet Lorraine
  • 8.Louis Ann
  • 9.G & G
  • 10.Poinciana
  • 11.This Can't Be Love

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Fj„rlins Vingor
  • 2.Last Night When We Were Young
  • 3.Amaryllis
  • 4.Strange Enchantment
  • 5.Look at That Face
  • 6.Portrait of Jennie
  • 7.Song Bird
  • 8.This Is All I Ask
  • 9.A Nightingale Sang in Berkeley Square

Product Description:

George Shearing: George Shearing (piano); Louis Stewart (guitar); Niels-Henning Orsted Pedersen (bass instrument).
Personnel: Robert Farnon .
Recording information: MPS-Studio, Villingen, Germany (06/??/1977-11/06/1980); Music Center Sound Studio, Wembley, England (06/??/1977-11/06/1980).
For those fortunate enough to hear and own the immaculately produced Germany/Black Forest based MPS recordings, distributed as imported pristine virgin vinyl LPs that were pressed in the '70s, you already know the quality of this four-CD set of George Shearing's trio. With the peerless Dane Niels-Henning Orsted Pedersen and Ireland's genius guitarist Louis Stewart, they can hardly do anything wrong musically. The first three CDs have Shearing playing standards, occasionally contemporizing his repertoire on Chick Corea's "Windows" and "500 Miles High," doing NHOP's "Cowboy Santa" and "My Little Anna," and offering two of his own originals, "The Fourth Deuce" and "G & G." The final CD has the threesome accompanied by strings, arranged and conducted by the brilliant Robert Farnon, and while a bit syrupy, lend pleasant late-night contrast at the end of a long day to the proceedings. This is a welcome addition to Shearing's collections discography, and a reminder of how good, in a short time period, MPS and producer Hans Georg Brunner-Schwer were. ~ Michael G. Nastos

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for George Shearing

Product Info

  • UPC: 602517450684
  • Shipping Weight: 0.42/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)