Stevie Ray Vaughan Texas Flood / In The Beginning (2-CD)

Texas Flood / In The Beginning (2-CD)
10% OFF
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
List Price: $11.98
Your Price: $10.78
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (2 Discs)
Item:  SNYL 722099
on most orders of $75
Brand New
Amazon sells this CD for $14.66, buying at saves you 26%
This is the price to buy directly from or its featured FBA seller. Prices change often, this price was last checked on November 13, 2014. Amazon is a registered trademark of, Inc.

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: February 26, 2008
  • Label: Sony Legacy

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Love Struck Baby
  • 2.Pride and Joy
  • 3.Texas Flood
  • 4.Tell Me
  • 5.Testify
  • 6.Rude Mood
  • 7.Mary Had a Little Lamb
  • 8.Dirty Pool
  • 9.I'm Cryin'
  • 10.Lenny
  • 11.Srv Speaks
  • 12.Tin Pan Alley (A.K.A. Roughest Place in Town)
  • 13.Testify - (live)
  • 14.May Had a Little Lamb - (live)
  • 15.Wham! - (live)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.In the Open - (live)
  • 2.Slide Thing - (live)
  • 3.They Call Me Guitar Hurricane - (live)
  • 4.All Your Love I Miss Loving - (live)
  • 5.Tin Pan Alley - (live)
  • 6.Love Struck Baby - (live)
  • 7.Tell Me - (live)
  • 8.Shake For Me - (live)
  • 9.Live Another Day - (live)

Product Description:

Stevie Ray Vaughan: Stevie Ray Vaughan (vocals, guitar); Jackie Newhouse, Tommy Shannon (bass guitar); Chris Layton (drums).
Sony Legacy's X2 series is one of the more curious reissue programs in the label's history. Here is a prime example: Stevie Ray Vaughan's breakthrough debut for the label, Texas Flood from 1983, is slapped in a slipcase with 1992's In the Beginning. The strange thing is that the latter album, while indeed recorded earlier, was released posthumously. It would have made far more sense to pop the debut in a sleeve with its successor -- also a hit -- Couldn't Stand the Weather from 1984. These two discs make perfect bookends and offer an exacting portrait of Vaughan's music at the time. These first two albums popped out almost immediately after he bailed from David Bowie's touring band after appearing on the Let's Dance album. This version does contain the bonus tracks. In the Beginning is a hodgepodge assemblage of cuts from a still developing period for the guitarist -- not so much as a soloist, but as a bandleader -- and he still sounds very much like a bar band musician -- albeit an extremely talented one. There are no bonus cuts here. The question is: who is going to buy these? Especially since, only six months earlier, Sony released a triple package of those first two albums with Soul to Soul in one of these slipcases? This must simply be a case of having too much stock lying around gathering dust. The high star rating is for the music, not the packaging cynicism. ~ Thom Jurek

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Stevie Ray Vaughan

Product Info:

  • UPC: 886972209920
  • Shipping Weight: 0.47/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items