Ray Davies Working Man's Cafe [Deluxe Edition]

Working Man's Cafe [Deluxe Edition]
29 ratings
Only 5 copies left
Price: $18.88
List Price: $20.98
You Save: $2.10 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  36VSJ
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: February 19, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: New West Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.70
3 stars out of 5 -- "[H]e turns out loose melodies amid nimble bar-band grooves..."
Entertainment Weekly - p.97
"[With] a cache of Kinks-worthy melodies...[including] the gorgeous 'The Real World,' and 'You're Asking Me,' which could almost be a lost tune from the late '60s."
Blender (Magazine) - p.97
3 stars out of 5 -- "When it comes to writing beautiful, wistfully nostalgic tunes, no one can top former Kinks frontman Ray Davies."
Harp (magazine) (p.93) - "WORKING MAN'S CAFE is sharper and more direct, a reaching back to Davies' most biting social commentary and the pointed wit of prime Kinks days."
Paste (magazine) (p.71) - 3.5 stars out of 5 -- "Electric guitars crank for 'Peace In Our Time' and arpeggiate for 'Imaginary Man.' Horns add punch to 'Morphine Song.'"


  • 1.Vietnam Cowboys
  • 2.You're Asking Me
  • 3.Working Man's Cafe
  • 4.Morphine Song
  • 5.In a Moment
  • 6.Peace in Our Time
  • 7.No One Listen
  • 8.Imaginary Man
  • 9.One More Time
  • 10.The Voodoo Walk
  • 11.Hymn For a New Age
  • 12.The Real World
  • 13.Angola (Wrong Side of the Law) - (Bonus Track)
  • 14.I, The Victim
  • 15.Vietnam Cowboys - (Bonus Track Demo)
  • 16.Voodoo Walk, The - (Bonus Track Demo)

Product Description:

Personnel: Ray Davies (vocals, acoustic guitar, keyboards, background vocals); Pat Buchanan (guitars); Craig Young (bass guitar); Shannon Otis Forrest (drums); Karin Forsman (background vocals); Ray Kennedy.
The Kinks stopped being a working band in 1996, but it still took frontman Ray Davies another decade to release his first proper solo album. The follow-up, WORKING MAN'S CAFE, came along a relatively speedy two years later. Those who are familiar with latter-day Kinks recordings will recognize a sonic thread here, but while there are some moments that lean toward harder-edged rock, WORKING MAN'S CAFE is ultimately a singer-songwriter album, with the highly melodic, elegantly crafted tunes serving the intentions of Davies's lyrics.
As has been the case since the '60s, Davies focuses his attention on sociopolitical themes, delving into both the political and sociological aspects of modern life. He alternately laments one man's inability to affect global politics ("Listen to Me") and rails eloquently against the misdirection of international economic practices ("Vietnam Cowboys"). Of course, this being the man who wrote "Waterloo Sunset" and "Days," those concerns are couched in musical frameworks so appealing that they taste like candy going down.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 29 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Ray Davies

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 96,293
  • UPC: 607396613724
  • Shipping Weight: 0.27/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)