Fats Waller Complete Recorded Works, Volume 4: New York Chicago Hollywood (4-CD)

Complete Recorded Works, Volume 4: New York
3 ratings
14 copies available
Sale: $26.09
SUPER SAVINGS: $24.26 Limited Time Only
List Price: $28.99
You Save: $4.73 (16% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  36VR3
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: January 28, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Jsp Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.S'posin'
  • 2.Copper Colored Gal
  • 3.I'm at the Mercy of Love
  • 4.Floatin' Down to Cotton Town
  • 5.La-De-De, La-De-Da
  • 6.Hallelujah! Things Look Rosy Now
  • 7.Hallelujah! Things Look Rosy Now - (instrumental)
  • 8.'Tain't Good (Like a Nickel Made of Wood)
  • 9.'Tain't Good (Like a Nickel Made of Wood) - (instrumental)
  • 10.Swingin' Them Jingle Bells
  • 11.Swingin' Them Jingle Bells - (instrumental)
  • 12.A Thousand Dreams of You
  • 13.Thousand Dreams of You, A - (instrumental)
  • 14.A Rhyme for Love
  • 15.I Adore You
  • 16.Havin' a Ball
  • 17.I'm Sorry I Made You Cry
  • 18.Who's Afraid of Love?
  • 19.Please Keep Me in Your Dreams
  • 20.One in a Million
  • 21.Nero
  • 22.You're Laughing at Me
  • 23.I Can't Break the Habit of You
  • 24.Did Anyone Ever Tell You?
  • 25.When Love Is Young
  • 26.The Meanest Thing You Ever Did Was Kiss Me
  • 27.Cryin' Mood
  • 28.Where Is the Sun?

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.You've Been Reading My Mail
  • 2.To a Sweet Pretty Thing
  • 3.Old Plantation
  • 4.Spring Cleaning
  • 5.Honeysuckle Rose
  • 6.Blues
  • 7.You Showed Me the Way
  • 8.You Showed Me the Way - (instrumental)
  • 9.Boo-Hoo
  • 10.The Love Bug Will Bite You
  • 11.San Anton'
  • 12.San Anton' - (instrumental)
  • 13.I've Got a New Lease on Love
  • 14.I've Got a New Lease on Love - (instrumental)
  • 15.Sweet Heartache
  • 16.Sweet Heartache - (instrumental)
  • 17.Honeysuckle Rose
  • 18.(You Know It All) Smarty
  • 19.Don't You Know or Don't You Care?
  • 20.Lost Love
  • 21.I'm Gonna Put You in Your Place
  • 22.Blue Turning Grey Over You
  • 23.Keepin' Out of Mischief Now
  • 24.Stardust
  • 25.Basin Street Blues
  • 26.Tea for Two

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.I Ain't Got Nobody
  • 2.You've Got Me Under Your Thumb
  • 3.Beat It Out
  • 4.Our Love Was Meant to Be
  • 5.I'd Rather Call You Baby
  • 6.I'm Always in the Mood for You
  • 7.She's Tall, She's Tan, She's Terrific
  • 8.You're My Dish
  • 9.More Power to You
  • 10.How Can I?
  • 11.The Joint Is Jumpin'
  • 12.A Hopeless Love Affair
  • 13.What Will I Do in the Morning?
  • 14.How Ya Baby?
  • 15.Jealous of Me
  • 16.On the Sunny Side of the Street
  • 17.Georgia
  • 18.Every Day's a Holiday
  • 19.Neglected
  • 20.My Window Faces the South
  • 21.Am I in Another World?
  • 22.Why Do Hawaiians Sing Aloha?
  • 23.My First Impression of You

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Something Tells Me
  • 2.I Love to Whistle
  • 3.You Went to My Head
  • 4.Florida Flo
  • 5.Lost and Found
  • 6.Don't Try to Cry Your Way Back to Me
  • 7.Marie
  • 8.In the Gloaming
  • 9.You Had an Evening to Spare
  • 10.Let's Break the Good News
  • 11.'Skrontch'
  • 12.I Simply Adore You
  • 13.The Sheik of Araby
  • 14.Hold My Hand
  • 15.Inside (This Heart of Mine)
  • 16.Big Business, Pt. 1
  • 17.Big Business, Pt. 2
  • 18.Did Anyone Ever Tell You? - (alternate take)
  • 19.More Power to You - (alternate take)
  • 20.Every Day's a Holiday - (alternate take)
  • 21.In the Gloaming - (alternate take)
  • 22.I Simply Adore You - (alternate take)
  • 23.Sheik of Araby, The - (alternate take)
  • 24.Hold My Hand - (alternate take)
  • 25.Inside (This Heart of Mine) - (alternate take)

Product Description:

Personnel: Fats Waller (vocals, piano, celesta); Dick McDonough, Ceele Burke, Albert Casey (guitar); Eugene Sedric (clarinet, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone); Caughey Roberts (clarinet, alto saxophone); William Alsop, Fred Skerritt (alto saxophone); John "Bugs" Hamilton , Herman Autrey, Nathaniel Williams, Paul Campbell , Bunny Berigan (trumpet); George Robinson, John Haughton, Tommy Dorsey (trombone); Wilmore Slick Jones (vibraphone, drums); George Wettling, Lee Young, Jr. (drums).
Audio Remasterer: Ted Kendall.
Recording information: Chicago, IL (10/14/1929-04/12/1938); Hollywood, CA (10/14/1929-04/12/1938); New York, NY (10/14/1929-04/12/1938).
Jazz pianist and singer Fats Waller belonged to a time and generation when being a pure entertainer did not have negative connotations. To be sure, Waller was an amazing pianist and organist and a witty, jolly singer. His style was gregarious and freewheeling, and while he was serious about his music--with several of his songs becoming standards--he never took himself too seriously. This volume of COMPLETE RECORDED WORKS (four discs) contains many of Waller's best and most popular songs, including "Honeysuckle Rose," "The Sheik of Araby," and "On the Sunny Side of the Street." There are also these lesser-known gems: "Boo-Hoo," "In the Gloaming," and "Everyday's A Holiday."

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Fats Waller

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 115,786
  • UPC: 788065904821
  • Shipping Weight: 0.80/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)