Ronnie Hawkins Ronnie Rocks

Ronnie Rocks
1 rating
Price: $24.28
List Price: $26.98
You Save: $2.70 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  R3AQ
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: April 1, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Bear Family


  • 1.Thirty Days
  • 2.Hey Bo Didley
  • 3.Ruby Baby
  • 4.Forty Days
  • 5.Horace
  • 6.One of These Days
  • 7.Wild Little Willy
  • 8.Whatcha Gonna Do (When the Creek Runs Dry)
  • 9.Mary Lou
  • 10.Oh Sugar
  • 11.Odessa
  • 12.My Gal Is Red Hot
  • 13.Need Your Lovin' (Oh So Bad)
  • 14.Dizzy Miss Lizzy
  • 15.Hay Ride
  • 16.Baby Jean
  • 17.Southern Love
  • 18.Hey Boba Lou
  • 19.Clara
  • 20.Honey Don't
  • 21.Sick & Tired
  • 22.You Know I Love You
  • 23.Sexy Ways
  • 24.Come Love
  • 25.I Feel Good
  • 26.Suzie Q
  • 27.Matchbox
  • 28.High Blood Pressure
  • 29.Mojo Man
  • 30.Bo Didley
  • 31.Who Do You Love
  • 32.Horace

Product Description:

As the man best known for putting together the Hawks--who later backed Bob Dylan and had their own international hits as the Band--Hawkins is more famous as a recruiter of talent than as a volcanic one in his own right. This fantastic Bear Family release, RONNIE ROCKS, aims to remedy that unfair designation. As evidenced on the collection's 32 tracks, Hawkins was a tremendous bandleader--each performance rips with the high-wire tension of the greatest rockabilly--but the man could also sing a rock-&-roll tune with the best of them, and his feral showmanship put him in the same category as Jerry Lee Lewis and Screaming Jay Hawkins. All the sides here come from his late 1950s to late '60s stints with the Quality and Roulette labels and include his best-known hits, "Mary Lou" and "Forty Days." Many of these recordings are the first snapshots of the Band, and part of the fun is being privy to the same field guide that made them one of the most schooled units in rock history. Robbie Robertson's ridiculous fretwork on "Who Do You Love?"--a staple of Hawkins's live set--is alone worth the price of admission. Includes a 48-page booklet.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Ronnie Hawkins

Product Info

  • UPC: 790051687328
  • Shipping Weight: 0.24/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)