Cast Mother Nature Calls [Deluxe Edition] (2-CD + DVD)

Mother Nature Calls [Deluxe Edition] (2-CD + DVD)
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $22.23 Limited Time Only
List Price: $24.99
You Save: $2.76 (11% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  395JC
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2014
  • Label: Imports

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Free Me
  • 2.On the Run
  • 3.Live the Dream
  • 4.Soul Tied
  • 5.The Sun Shines
  • 6.I'm So Lonely
  • 7.The Mad Hatter
  • 8.Mirror Me
  • 9.Guiding Star
  • 10.Never Gonna Tell You What to Do (Revolution)
  • 11.Dance of the Stars
  • 12.Soul Tied (Piano Loop)
  • 13.Come On Everybody
  • 14.Canter
  • 15.Free Me
  • 16.Release My Soul
  • 17.Dancing On the Flames
  • 18.Out of the Blue

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Free Me
  • 2.Mirror Me
  • 3.Keep It Alive
  • 4.Redemption Song
  • 5.Guiding Star
  • 6.Hold On
  • 7.Flow
  • 8.Effectomatic Who
  • 9.Live the Dream
  • 10.On the Run
  • 11.The Things You Make Me Do
  • 12.Theme From
  • 13.Never Gonna Tell You What to Do (Revolution)
  • 14.Free Me
  • 15.Guiding Star
  • 16.History (Headrillaz Remix)
  • 17.History (Lo Fidelity All Stars Remix)

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Free Me (Promo Video) [DVD]
  • 2.Guiding Star (Promo Video) [DVD]
  • 3.Live the Dream (Promo Video) [DVD]
  • 4.I'm So Lonely (Promo Video) [DVD]
  • 5.Free Me ('Top of the Pops') [DVD]
  • 6.Guiding Star ('Top of the Pops') [DVD]
  • 7.Live the Dream ('Top of the Pops') [DVD]
  • 8.Guiding Star ('Later...With Jools Holland') [DVD]
  • 9.I'm So Lonely ('Later...With Jools Holland') [DVD]

Product Description:

Personnel: John Power (vocals, guitar); Liam Tyson (guitar); Keith O'Neill (drums).
Audio Mixer: Mark "Spike" Stent.
Liner Note Author: Terry Staunton.
Recording information: 04/04/1997-10/28/1997.
Director: Brian Cannon.
Editor: Karl Flaschke.
If Cast's debut album All Change was trad-rock at its most joyous, their second album Mother Nature Calls is considerably more problematic. Electing to expand their sound slightly instead of replicating All Change, Cast paints itself into a corner. They haven't abandoned the traditional Brit-pop stylings of their debut, but they've strengthened it with a tougher sound and neo-hippie mysticism that manifests itself not only in John Power's dippy lyrics, but also in trippy instrumental sections. In theory, this is a way out of the trad-rock straitjacket, but in practice it falls flat. The main problem is that Power's melodies aren't nearly as sharp or memorable as they were on the debut; this immediately brings attention toward his lyrics, which are naive and often embarassingly simplistic. Cast also doesn't have enough charisma to save the songs with energetic, distinctive performances when they're flailing. These problems become all the more evident when they do get it right, such as on the shimmering "Guiding Star," the punchy "She Sun Shines" and the heart-tugging "I'm So Lonely (Calling You Back)," and they have the same sparkling joy that made All Change a delight. But that's a rarity on Mother Nature Calls. When the tunes and attitude are there, such weaknesses are easy to overlook, but since Cast comes up deficient on both counts, Mother Nature Calls is simply a dull listen. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Cast

Product Info

  • UPC: 740155803735
  • Shipping Weight: 0.36/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)