Duke Ellington The Treasury Shows, Volume 7 (2-CD)

The Treasury Shows, Volume 7 (2-CD)
1 rating
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Price: $14.39
List Price: $15.99
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  395ED
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Label: Storyville Records

Entertainment Reviews:

JazzTimes - 8/03, pp.143-4
"...The enthusiastic New York audiences obviously motivated the band, and they deliver inspired renditions of 'Caravan', 'Harlem Airshaft', 'Old King Dooji' and rip-roaring rendition of Buck Clayton's 'Hollywood Hangover'..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Take the a Train - (Opening Theme)
  • 2.Caravan
  • 3.Fickle Fling
  • 4.Ellington Bond Promo
  • 5.Kissing Bug
  • 6.Honeysuckle Rose
  • 7.Day Dream
  • 8.One O'Clock Jump
  • 9.Ellington Bond Promo
  • 10.Take the "A" Train Into Station Break - (Theme)
  • 11.Return and Introduction to Billy Strayhorn Medley
  • 12.Chelsea Bridge / I Want Something To Live For / I'm Beginning To The See The Light / Clementine / My Little Brown Book - (Ellington Bond Promo)
  • 13.Riff Staccato, (Otto Make That)
  • 14.Carnegie Blues
  • 15.I'm Beginning to See the Light - (Into Ellington Bond Promo)
  • 16.Old King Dooji
  • 17.Things Ain't What They Used to Be - (Theme)
  • 18.Take the "A" Train - (Theme)
  • 19.Clementine
  • 20.I'll Buy That Dream
  • 21.Come to Baby, Do!
  • 22.Harlem Airshaft
  • 23.Everything But You - (Theme)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Take the "A" Train - (Opening Theme)
  • 2.Blue Belles of Harlem
  • 3.I'm Beginning to See the Light
  • 4.Ellington Bond Promo
  • 5.Can't You Read Between the Lines?
  • 6.Medley: Trio in Blue: Diminuendo In Blue / Carnegie Blues / Crescendo In Blue
  • 7.Ellington Bond Promo
  • 8.Mood to Be Wooed Into Station Break
  • 9.Take the "A" Train and Return - (Theme)
  • 10.The Perfume Suite: Balcony Serenade / Strange Feeling / Dancers In Love / Coloratura
  • 11.Ellington Bond Promo
  • 12.Hollywood Hangover
  • 13.I Don't Mind
  • 14.Ring Dem Bells
  • 15.Things Ain't What They Use to Be Into Broadcast Close - (Theme)
  • 16.Take the "A" Train - (Theme)
  • 17.Fancy Dan
  • 18.Walkin' With My Honey
  • 19.Go Away Blues
  • 20.Homesick, That's All
  • 21.I'd Do It All Over Again

Product Description:

Duke Ellington & His Orchestra: Duke Ellington (arranger, piano); BIlly Strayhorn (arranger, piano); Al Hibbler, Joya Sherrill, Kay Davis, Marie Ellington (vocals); Johnny Hodges, Otto Hardwick (alto saxophone); Jimmy Hamilton (tenor saxophone, clarinet); Al Sears (tenor saxophone); Harry Carney (baritone saxophone, clarinet, bass clarinet); Rex Stewart, Cat Anderson, Ray Nance, Taft Jordan, Sheldon Hemphill (trumpet); Joseph Nanton, Lawrence Brown, Claude Jones (trombone); Fred Guy (guitar); Junior Raglin, Al Lucas (bass); Sonny Greer (drums).
Recorded in New York, New York on June 30 & July 7, 1945.
The seventh two-CD set in the important Treasury Shows series that reissues Duke Ellington's radio broadcasts of his Treasury shows of 1945-1946 has more than its share of worthy music. Reissued in full are the broadcasts of June 30 and July 7, 1945, plus additional material performed at the Caf‚ Zanzibar on October 7 and 17 of the same year. Although this particular edition of the Ellington Orchestra has long been underrated, Duke's 1945 band had 11 major soloists in addition to the full-time writing of Billy Strayhorn. Ellington's promos are a bit difficult to sit through and one of them inexcusably comes in the middle of a four-song Strayhorn medley, but in general those can be skipped. It is worth it for the valuable music, which includes such numbers as "Caravan," "Honeysuckle Rose," a transformation of "One O'Clock Jump," a revival of "Old King Dooji," "Blue Belles of Harlem," "The Perfume Suite," and "Ring Dem Bells." "Diminuendo in Blue" and "Crescendo in Blue," which at the 1956 Newport Jazz Festival would sandwich a marathon Paul Gonsalves tenor solo, in this setting are bridged by "Carnegie Blues." Of the many soloists, tenor saxophonist Al Sears and trombonist Tricky Sam Nanton are standouts, as are altoist Johnny Hodges and the many trumpeters. All of the entries in this valuable series are well worth acquiring by Ellington fans. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Duke Ellington

Product Info

  • UPC: 717101900725
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)