Duke Ellington The Treasury Shows, Volume 6 (2-CD)

The Treasury Shows, Volume 6 (2-CD)
1 rating
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Price: $14.39
List Price: $15.99
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  395EY
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Label: Storyville Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Take the "A" Train (Opening Theme)
  • 2.(Back Home Again In) Indiana
  • 3.Blue Serge
  • 4.Ellington Bond Promo
  • 5.The Wish I Wish Tonight
  • 6.Jumpin' Punkins
  • 7.On the Sunny Side of the Street
  • 8.Ellington Bond Promo
  • 9.Cotton Tail
  • 10.Take the "A" Train (Theme)
  • 11.(Broadcast Return Into) New World A-Comin'
  • 12.I'm Beginning to See the Light
  • 13.Johnny Come Lately
  • 14.Yesterdays
  • 15.Let the Zoomers Drool
  • 16.Ellington Bond Promo
  • 17.Boy Meets Horn
  • 18.Things Ain't What They Used to Be
  • 19.In a Mellow Tone
  • 20.The Wonder of You
  • 21.Riffin' Drill
  • 22.The Last Time I Saw You

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.How Deep Is the Ocean?
  • 2.(Otto Make That) Riff Staccato
  • 3.Every Hour on the Hour (I Fall in Love With You)
  • 4.Harlem Air Shaft
  • 5.Take the "A" Train (Theme)
  • 6.Take the "A" Train (Opening Theme)
  • 7.Jump for Joy
  • 8.All at Once
  • 9.Ellington Bond Promo
  • 10.Ko Ko
  • 11.I Should Care
  • 12.Go Away Blues
  • 13.Tootin' Through the Roof
  • 14.Every Hour on the Hour (I Fall in Love With You)
  • 15.I'm Beginning to See the Light /I'm ...
  • 16.Take the "A" Train (Theme)
  • 17.Take the "A" Train (Theme)
  • 18.Blue Belles of Harlem
  • 19.Body and Soul / Ellington Bond Promo
  • 20.The More I See You
  • 21.Band Fanfare
  • 22.What Am I Here For?
  • 23.Warm Valley
  • 24.Ellington Bond Promo
  • 25.Stompy Jones
  • 26.Take the "A" Train (Theme)

Product Description:

Personnel: Duke Ellington (spoken vocals, arranger, piano); Billy Strayhorn (arranger, piano); Al Hibler, Joya Sherrill, Kay Davis, Ray Nance (vocals); Johnny Hodges, Otto Hardwick (alto saxophone); Jimmy Hamilton (tenor saxophone, clarinet); Al Sears (tenor saxophone); Harry Carney (baritone saxophone, clarinet, bass clarinet); Ray Nance (trumpet, violin); Rex Stewart, Taft Jordan, Shelton Hemphill, Cat Anderson (trumpet); Joseph Nanton, Lawrence Brown, Claude Jones (trombone); Fred Guy (guitar); Junior Raglin, Al Lucas (bass); Sonny Greer (drums).
Recorded at Franklin Gardens, Evansville, Indiana and The New Zanzibar, New York, New York between June and October 1945. Includes liner notes by Willie Timner.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Personnel: Duke Ellington (piano); Ray Nance (vocals, violin, trumpet); Joya Sherrill, Kay Davis, Al Hibbler (vocals); Fred Guy (guitar); Harry Carney (clarinet, bass clarinet, baritone saxophone); Jimmy Hamilton (clarinet, alto saxophone); Johnny Hodges, Otto Hardwick (alto saxophone); Al Sears (tenor saxophone); Rex Stewart, Taft Jordan, Shelton Hemphill, Cat Anderson (trumpet); Lawrence Brown , Claude Jones (trombone); Billy Strayhorn (piano); Sonny Greer (drums).
Liner Note Author: Jerry Valburn.
Recording information: Franklin Gardens, Evansville, IN (06/16/1945-10/28/1945); New Zanzibar, New York, NY (06/16/1945-10/28/1945); Palace Theater, Akron, OH (06/16/1945-10/28/1945).
Arrangers: Duke Ellington; Billy Strayhorn.
The Duke Ellington Treasury Series, which was aired weekly during April-November 1945 and April-October 1946, was initially issued by the Merritt Record Society on LPs in the 1980s. Storyville, in its DETS series, has been not only bringing back all of the music in its two-fer series, but augmenting the broadcasts with other live Ellington performances from the era. All of these broadcasts are well-recorded and feature the underrated mid-'40s Ellington orchestra in prime form. One has to sit through a few bond promos during each program, which are delivered a bit heavy-handedly, but the valuable music makes it well worth it. At the time, the Ellington band had major soloists in trumpeters/cornetists Rex Stewart, Taft Jordan, Cat Anderson, and Ray Nance, trombonists Tricky Sam Nanton and Lawrence Brown, Al Sears on tenor, clarinetist Jimmy Hamilton, altoist Johnny Hodges, and baritonist Harry Carney, not to mention the leader on piano and fine singers in Al Hibbler, Joya Sherrill, Kay Davis, and Ray Nance; there is certainly no shortage in talent! The repertoire in the series includes Ellington standards, a few tunes that Duke never otherwise recorded, and extended works, including on this two-fer "New World A-Comin'." Other highlights of this set (which has two Treasury Show broadcasts from June 1945 and an October 1945 set from the Zanzibar) include fine versions of "India," "Cotton Tail," "Let the Zoomers Drool," "Stompy Jones," and "Body & Soul." Duke Ellington fans will want all of the entries in this extensive series. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Duke Ellington

Product Info

  • UPC: 717101900626
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)