Duke Ellington The Treasury Shows, Volume 1 (2-CD)

The Treasury Shows, Volume 1 (2-CD)
13% OFF
Only 4 copies left
List Price: $15.98
SUPER SAVINGS: $13.96 Limited Time Only
You Save: $2.02 (13% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (2 Discs)
Item:  395EK
on most orders of $35
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Label: Storyville Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Take the "A" Train - (opening theme)
  • 2.Bluetopia
  • 3.Midriff
  • 4.Creole Love Call
  • 5.Suddenly It Jumped
  • 6.Frustration
  • 7.I'm Beginning to See the Light
  • 8.The Perfume Suite
  • 9.Love (Balcony Serenade)
  • 10.Violence (Strange Feeling)
  • 11.Dancers in Love
  • 12.Sophistication (Coloratura)
  • 13.Air-Conditioned Jungle
  • 14.I Ain't Got Nothin' But the Blues
  • 15.Subtle Slough
  • 16.Passion Flower (Into Closing)
  • 17.Take the "A" Train (Theme)
  • 18.Hayfoot, Strawfoot
  • 19.Don't Get Around Much Anymore
  • 20.Slip of the Lip, A (Can Sink a Ship)
  • 21.Take the "A" Train

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Moon Mist (Theme and Intro)
  • 2.New World A-Comin'
  • 3.Nobody Knows the Trouble I've Seen
  • 4.Mood Indigo
  • 5.Chant for FDR (American Lullaby)
  • 6.Poor Pilgrim of Sorrow
  • 7.Creole Love Call
  • 8.Moon Mist - (into broadcast close)
  • 9.Any Bonds Today? (Transcription Theme) - (transcription theme)
  • 10.Take the "A" Train (Theme)
  • 11.Don't Get Around Much Anymore
  • 12.Caravan
  • 13.Bond Promo
  • 14.It Can't Be Wrong
  • 15.Johnny Come Lately
  • 16.Any Bonds Today? (Closing Theme)
  • 17.Any Bonds Today? (Closing Theme)
  • 18.Take the "A" Train (Theme)
  • 19.Wait for Me Mary
  • 20.Moon Mist
  • 21.Bond Promo
  • 22.A Slip of the Lip
  • 23.Things Ain't What They Used to Be
  • 24.Any Bonds Today? (Closing Theme)

Product Description:

Duke Elligton & His Orchestra: Duke Ellington (piano); Ray Nance (vocals, trumpet, violin); Joya Sherrill, Kay Davis, Al Hibbler (vocals); Johnny Hodges, Otto Hardwick (alto saxophone); Jimmy Hamilton (tenor saxophone, clarinet); Al Sears, Ben Webster (tenor saxophone); Harry Carney (baritone & bass saxophones, clarinet, bass clarinet); Rex Stewart, Taft Jordan, Shelton Hemphill, Cat Anderson (trumpet); Joseph Nanton, Lawrence Brown, Juan Tizol (trombone); Billy Strayhorn (piano); Fred Guy (guitar); Junior Raglin (bass); Sonny Greer (drums).
Recorded in 1943 and 1945. Includes liner notes by Rob Bamberger and Jerry Valburn.
Digitally remastered by Jack Towers.
Personnel: Duke Ellington (piano); Ray Nance (vocals, violin, trumpet); Joya Sherrill, Kay Davis, Al Hibbler (vocals); Fred Guy (guitar); Harry Carney (clarinet, bass clarinet, baritone saxophone); Oett "Sax" Mallard, Nat Jones (clarinet, alto saxophone); Jimmy Hamilton (clarinet, tenor saxophone); Johnny Hodges (soprano saxophone, alto saxophone); Otto Hardwick (alto saxophone); Al Sears, Ben Webster (tenor saxophone); Harold Baker, Rex Stewart, Taft Jordan, Shelton Hemphill, Wallace Jones, Cat Anderson (trumpet); Joe "Tricky Sam" Nanton, Juan Tizol, Lawrence Brown , Sandy Williams , Claude Jones (trombone); Billy Strayhorn (piano); Sonny Greer (drums).
Liner Note Authors: Jerry Valburn; Robert Bamberger.
Recording information: 06/??/1943-04/05/1945.
Arrangers: Duke Ellington; Billy Strayhorn.
On April 7, 1945, Duke Ellington began a series of broadcasts for the Treasury Department; the series ended 45 shows later on October 5, 1946. Albums of the broadcasts were released by Sweden's Phontastic label's Nostalgia Series beginning in the early 1980s and, almost 20 years later, Denmark's outstanding Storyville label began an undertaking to reissue all of the sessions on CD. The liner notes from this initial volume promise a release every other month. When the series originally started, World War II was ending in Europe, but an intense struggle was anticipated for Japan. Still seeking to promote war bond sales, the Treasury Department sponsored 55-minute Saturday broadcasts by Ellington from various venues, mainly in New York and some in Los Angeles as well. As a bonus on the first volume, Storyville has included two 1943 broadcasts of the Treasury's Star Parade Show which had Ellington's band as the feature. The Ellington ensemble was undergoing some changes during this period. Ben Webster had departed (although he is heard on the 1943 broadcasts), and Junior Raglin had replaced the recently deceased Jimmy Blanton on bass. Juan Tizol and Harold "Shorty" Baker had also departed but, like so many former Ellington players, they returned in later years. But the basic foundation of the band was still intact. Johnny Hodges does his alto thing on "Don't Get Around Much Anymore." Kay Davis pays honor to Adelaide Hall with her obbligatos on "Creole Love Call." Jimmy Hamilton, Lawrence Brown, and Cat Anderson are on hand as part of one of the Duke's most resourceful organizations. The play list is made up mostly of Ellington/Strayhorn compositions (many written during this period) with an occasional nod to pop music of the day. And several of the songs (and the war bond promos) are repeated. But even the insulting comments of the announcer, who refers to Al Hibbler as "that blind boy who sings with the Duke Ellington Orchestra," doesn't detract from the wonderful experience generated by this album. This is essential Ellington. ~ Dave Nathan

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Duke Ellington

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 107,058
  • UPC: 717101900121
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)
Memorial Day: 10am-6pm