Collectables Records

Percy Faith Passport To Romance / Mucho Gusto

Rating 5.0
6 ratings
List Price: $14.97
SALE PRICE: $10.98
You Save: $3.99 (27% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  COL 6057
Amazon sells this CD for $14.58, buying at saves you 25%
This is the price to buy directly from or its featured FBA seller. Prices change often, this price was last checked on September 17, 2014. Amazon is a registered trademark of, Inc.

Related products:

2 Original LPs on 1 CD

Customers who purchased this item also bought these:

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

Favorites from Italy and France, 50's style, are showcased in "Passport To Romance" that features stunning melodic content and superb arrangements. "Mucho Gusto" takes us to Mexico with the title tune, a Faith original, showing a humorous side of Percy. Some names of the composers heard are Velazqwez, Fuentes, Espinosa, Jiminez, and Esperon. (Bill Halvorsen)


  • 1.Madeira
  • 2.Merry-Go-Round
  • 3.Bonjour Tristesse
  • 4.Theme From The Threepenny Opera
  • 5.Heart Of Paris
  • 6.Bread, Love And Dreams
  • 7.Little Bells And Big Bells
  • 8.Little Lost Dog
  • 9.Scalinatella
  • 10.Portuguese Washerwoman
  • 11.Sierra Madre
  • 12.Sombra
  • 13.Mucho Gusto
  • 14.Besame Mucho
  • 15.La Negra
  • 16.Maria Elena
  • 17.Huapango
  • 18.Las Mananitas
  • 19.Las Altenitas
  • 20.Perfidia
  • 21.Cielito Lindo
  • 22.Adios Mariquita Linda
  • 23.Cocula
  • 24.La Chaparrita

Product Description:

Includes liner notes by Mark Marymont.
These relatively early (1956) Percy Faith albums are typical of his early career: PASSPORT TO ROMANCE is a collection of sentimental love songs, plus, bizarrely, Kurt Weill's "The Ballad of Mack the Knife," here titled "Theme from the Threepenny Opera" and somehow managing to sound deeply sardonic and ironic even in Faith's straitlaced instrumental arrangement. "Bonjour Tristesse" and "The Little Lost Dog" are more typical. MUCHO GUSTO is Faith's second album of Mexican-influenced instrumentals, and the huge orchestral readings of tunes as bouncy or melodic as "Besame Mucho" and "Cielito Lindo" are a bit kitschy-sounding, but they actually maintain a certain amount of their fun and sentiment. There are far, far worse easy listening albums out there than these.
RadioIO Offer

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Percy Faith

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 9,385
  • UPC: 090431605721
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item