A Family Affair: Motor City Roots (2-CD)
by Various Artists

A Family Affair: Motor City Roots (2-CD)
3 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Sale: $18.89
SUPER SAVINGS: $17.59 Limited Time Only
List Price: $20.99
You Save: $3.40 (16% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  3956X
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: Jasmine

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $0.991.Hope and Pray - The Voicemasters
  • Buy for $0.992.Oops I'm Sorry - The Voicemasters
  • Buy for $0.993.Needed (For Lovers Only) - The Voicemasters
  • Buy for $0.994.Needed - The Voicemasters
  • Buy for $0.995.The Hunch - Paul Gayten
  • Buy for $0.996.Hot Cross Buns - Paul Gayten
  • Buy for $0.997.Let's Go To A Movie Baby - Johnny and Jackey
  • Buy for $0.998.Lonely and Blue - Johnny and Jackey
  • Buy for $0.999.I'll Get Along Somehow - Larry Darnell
  • Buy for $0.9910.Money (That's What I Want) - Barrett Strong
  • Buy for $0.9911.Oh I Apologise - Barrett Strong
  • Buy for $0.9912.Everything About You - Ty Hunter & The Voicemasters
  • Buy for $0.9913.Do You Want To See My Baby - Herman Griffin & The Mello-Dees
  • Buy for $0.9914.So Good - Ruben Fort
  • Buy for $0.9915.I Feel It - Ruben Fort
  • Buy for $0.9916.All I Could Do Was Cry Pt 1 - Joe Tex
  • Buy for $0.9917.All I Could Do Was Cry Pt 2 - Joe Tex
  • Buy for $0.9918.Hoy Hoy - Johnny & Jackey
  • Buy for $0.9919.No One Else But You - Johnny & Jackey
  • Buy for $0.9920.Tight Skirts and Crazy Sweaters - The Cap Tans
  • Buy for $0.9921.I'm Free - Ty Hunter & The Voicemasters
  • Buy for $0.9922.Everytime - Ty Hunter & The Voicemasters
  • Buy for $0.9923.I'll Never Break Your Heart Pts 1 & 2 - Joe Tex & The Vibrators
  • Buy for $0.9924.Let's Talk It Over - Lamont Anthony
  • Buy for $0.9925.The Pop Eye - Lamont Anthony
  • Buy for $0.9926.I'm In Love - David Ruffin
  • Buy for $0.9927.One of These Days - David Ruffin
  • Buy for $0.9928.Ain't It A Mess - Joe Tex
  • Buy for $0.9929.Baby You're Right - Joe Tex

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Orange Driver - Eddie Burns
  • 2.Hard Hearted Woman - Eddie Burns
  • 3.Twist Lackawanna - Junior Walker and The All Stars
  • 4.Willie's Blues - Junior Walker and The All Stars
  • 5.It's Been A Long Time - The Five Quails
  • 6.Get To School On Time - The Five Quails
  • 7.Mean and Evil - Eddie Burns
  • 8.Thing To Do - Eddie Burn The Tri-Phi Story
  • 9.That's What Girls Are Made Of - The Spinners
  • 10.Heebie Jeebies - The Spinners
  • 11.Carry Your Own Load - Johnny and Jackey
  • 12.Love (I'm So Glad) I Found You - The Spinners
  • 13.Sud Buster - The Spinners
  • 14.Someday We'll Be Together - Johnny and Jackey
  • 15.Bad Willie - Shorty Long
  • 16.What Did She Use - The Spinners
  • 17.Itching For My Baby - The Spinners
  • 18.She Loves Me So - Harvey & The Spinners
  • 19.Whistling About You - Harvey & The Spinners
  • 20.Midnight Session Pt 1 - The Merced Bluenotes
  • 21.I've Been Hurt - The Spinners
  • 22.I've Got Your Water Boiling, Baby (Gonna Cook Your Goose) - The Spinners
  • 23.I'll Be Here - Shorty Long
  • 24.Too Smart - Shorty Long
  • 25.Do You See My Love For You Growing - Johnny & Jackey
  • 26.Anyway You Wanta - Harvey (Formerly of The Moonglows)
  • 27.She Don't Love Me - Bobby Smith & The Spinners
  • 28.Too Young, Too Much, Too Soon - Bobby Smith & The Spinners

Product Description:

'A Family Affair' follows on from the success of Jasmine's previous issue (JASCD527 - Berry Gordy - Motor City Roots). In this volume, they focus on the labels own by Berry Gordy's sister, Gwen, and as you would expect this is once again a feast of early 1960s soul! Features the first recordings from the soon to be famous Motown stars: The Spinners, Junior Walker, Lamont Dozier, David Ruffin and Johnny Bristol. Hear history in the making as the roots of Motown take shape with many recordings on CD for the first time. fully detailed liner notes covering how these labels merged into Motown.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
The Roots of Motown! Music Lover: from BRONX, NY US -- November, 25, 2014

I have always considered "Motown"-the greatest music ever played because its limitless appeal attracted all ages,races,religions and all walks of life! This spectacular CD focuses on the genesis of Motown! Artists like the Voice masters,Spinners,David Ruffin, Jr.Walker, Harvey Fuqua and even Joe Tex will mesmerized you with their first records! Songs like Hope and Pray, She loves you so and the original " Someday we will be together" will captivate your ear as well as your heart! If you are a Motown fan like myself, this CD is mandatory to have in your collection! The Sound of Young America will never die!

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 54,683
  • UPC: 604988021820
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)
Memorial Day: 10am-6pm