Jeannie C. Riley Very Best of Jeannie C. Riley - Harper Valley P.T.A.

Very Best of Jeannie C. Riley - Harper Valley
11 ratings
SALE: $10.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $3.99 (27% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  COL 6022
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

Jeannie C. Riley scored a massive country and #1 Pop hit in 1968 with "Harper Valley PTA". The song went gold and won Riley a Country Vocal Grammy Award. She had continued success on the country charts in the late '60s and early '70s. Some of her biggest hits are included here.


  • 1.Harper Valley P. T. A.
  • 2.Before The Next Teardrop Falls
  • 3.Wedding Cake
  • 4.Duty Not Desire
  • 5.Good Enough To Be Your Wife
  • 6.A Real Woman
  • 7.Girl Most Likely
  • 8.Help Me Make It Through The Night
  • 9.Roses And Thorns
  • 10.Back Side Of Dallas
  • 11.I'm The Woman That Belongs To Her Man
  • 12.Things Go Better With Love
  • 13.My Man
  • 14.Oh Singer
  • 15.Teardrops On Page Forty-Three
  • 16.Country Girl
  • 17.That's How It Is With Him And Me
  • 18.I Love Him
  • 19.Generation Gap
  • 20.He Made a Woman Out of Me
  • 21.Rib
  • 22.I'm Only A Woman
  • 23.There Never Was A Time
  • 24.Macon County Bad Girl

Product Description:

Includes liner notes by Mark Marymont.
Known mostly for the number one pop and country hit "Harper Valley P.T.A.," Jeannie C. Riley made it big in Music City right when the Nashville sound starting showing a few crossover signs smacking of the psychedelic '60s. With a voice somewhere in the vicinity of Ann Margaret after years of booze and cigarettes, Riley offers up her own youth culture statement on "The Generation Gap" and sings of being down and out to the tune of an imitation electric sitar on "Backside of Dallas." Fat rock beats abound on cuts like "The Girl Most Likely" while the liberal revivalism of the Doobie Brothers' "Jesus Is Just Alright with Me" gets prefigured on the hilariously titled "Will the Real Jesus Please Stand Up." Of course this a country collection, so Riley finds her trad voice on the pedal-steel weeper "Duty Not Desire" and the updated honky-tonk cut "Macon Georgia Bad Girl." Most impressive, though, are her forays into swamp country   la Bobbie Gentry's "Ode to Billie Joe": look out for standouts like "He Made a Woman Out of Me" and a version of Kris Kristofferson's chestnut "Help Me Make It Through the Night." And there are 15 more equally enjoyable tracks on this Collectables collection, making it the best of the few compilations of Riley's prime cuts from 1968-1974. For those still a little unsettled at the thought of investigating later born-again titles like From Harper Valley P.T.A. to the Mountain Top, this ones for you. ~ Stephen Cook
Collectables Records

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 11 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Jeannie C. Riley

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 10,452
  • UPC: 090431602225
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Country: Nashville Sound Music Categories:

Collectables Records - Audio CDs:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)