Sonny Burgess Very Best of Sonny Burgess - We Wanna Boogie

Very Best of Sonny Burgess - We Wanna Boogie
1 rating
SALE: $10.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $3.99 (27% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  COL 6020
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 1998
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

Sonny Burgess was another of the great talents that Sam Phillips signed to Sun Records. With his group, The Pacers, he was known for his high-energy shows, which were just as dynamic as those of Lewis or Presley. Burgess also hit the charts with songs filled with high energy playing and singing. This disc brings together the results of his great collaboration with Phillips at Sun.


  • 1.We Wanna Boogie
  • 2.Daddy Blues
  • 3.Find My Baby For Me
  • 4.One Night With You
  • 5.My Babe
  • 6.Feelin' Good
  • 7.Don't Be That Way
  • 8.Itchy
  • 9.Kiss Goodnight
  • 10.Sweet Misery
  • 11.Mr. Blues
  • 12.Oochie Couchie
  • 13.Thunderbird
  • 14.Fannie Brown
  • 15.Always Will
  • 16.Red-Headed Woman
  • 17.Sadie's Back In Town
  • 18.You
  • 19.Little Town Baby
  • 20.Tomorrow Night
  • 21.One Broken Heart

Product Description:

Includes liner notes by Mark Marymont.
Not everybody is a crazed rockabilly cat, needing everything that Sonny Burgess recorded for Sun. That's what the previous best collection of Burgess material, the 1991 Bear Family double-disc set Classic Recordings offered (like most Bear Family discs): a complete overview of the artist's work for a seminal label. Meanwhile, other good collections like 1995's Hittin' That Jug have gone out of print. So there certainly is a market for Collectables' 1998 collection, The Very Best of Sonny Burgess: We Wanna Boogie. This collection rounds up 21 tracks from his Sun recordings and, since he didn't really have big hits, the collection sinks or swims based on the song selection. Fortunately, it is first-rate, getting all the real big items -- "We Wanna Boogie" and "Red-Headed Woman," most prominently -- along with a consistently entertaining selection of Sun sides, meaning that if one wants only one Burgess collection and doesn't need to have the complete Sun sessions, this suits the bill very nicely. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Collectables Records

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Sonny Burgess

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 39,372
  • UPC: 090431602027
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Collectables Records - Audio CDs:

Collectables Records Labels:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)