Dan Hicks Original Recordings

Original Recordings
1 rating
Sale: $13.49
SUPER SAVINGS: $10.44 Limited Time Only
List Price: $14.99
You Save: $4.55 (30% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  38XJ4
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: November 26, 2013
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: Floating World


  • 1.Canned Music
  • 2.How Can I Miss You When You Won't Go Away
  • 3.I Scare Myself
  • 4.Shorty Takes A Dive
  • 5.Evenin' Breeze
  • 6.Waitin' For The 103
  • 7.Shorty Falls In Love
  • 8.Milk Shakin' Mama
  • 9.Slow Movin'
  • 10.It's Bad Grammar Baby
  • 11.Jukies' Ball

Product Description:

Sometimes this sextet spreads their sound so thin that they sound like the world's largest populated duo, and not every aspect of what made for an exotic, intriguing, or just plain freaky band in the late '60s still holds one's undivided attention years down the line. Nonetheless, leader Dan Hicks, later to dub himself an "acoustic music warrior," made a good case for himself on this, his debut recording as a bandleader and one that certainly helped put this band on the map, although at the time part of their popularity had to do with the wispy appearance of vocalists Sherry Snow and Christina Viola Gancher. Their contributions tend to sound weak upon repeated listening. Sometimes they are just plain out of tune with each other, a trait that one might forgive if their Western swing gambits paid off a little better. Violinist Sid Page plays just great on this record, though, and the efforts of bassist Jaime Leopold are in the right spot. The five-minute "I Scare Myself" is here in all its glory, one of this outfit's definite triumphs. The string players make a huge addition, but inevitably this is Hicks' show, with the leader often taking over half the rhythm section by overdubbing himself on drums. The presence of a dozen original tunes, all witty and stylistically expressive, and a few downright classics, speaks well for Hicks. Still, he doesn't seem to have figured out a good way to use his vocal sidekicks all the time, other than as scenery. ~ Eugene Chadbourne

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Sale Items:
Get Email Alerts for Dan Hicks

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 53,593
  • UPC: 805772621121
  • Shipping Weight: 0.19/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)