Any Trouble The Complete Stiff Recordings 1980-1981 (3-CD)

The Complete Stiff Recordings 1980-1981 (3-CD)
Only 7 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $24.65 Limited Time Only
List Price: $27.99
You Save: $3.34 (12% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  38X6C
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released: November 19, 2013
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: Cherry Red UK

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Second Choice
  • 2.Playing Bogart
  • 3.Foolish Pride
  • 4.Nice Girls
  • 5.Turning Up The Heat
  • 6.Romance
  • 7.The Hurt
  • 8.Girls Are Always Right
  • 9.Honolulu
  • 10.(Get You Off) The Hook
  • 11.Yesterday's Love
  • 12.Nice Girls [B-Side Version]
  • 13.No Idea
  • 14.Growing Up
  • 15.Turning Up The Heat [Remix]
  • 16.The Hurt [Demo]

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Trouble With Love
  • 2.Open Fire
  • 3.As Lovers Do
  • 4.Walking In Chains
  • 5.Dimming Of The Day
  • 6.Another Heartache
  • 7.To Be A King
  • 8.Power Cut
  • 9.Eastern Promise
  • 10.The Sun Never Sets
  • 11.She'll Belong To Me
  • 12.Wheels In Motion [Final Studio Session]
  • 13.Snapshot [Final Studio Session]
  • 14.Follow That Car [Final Studio Session]

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.The Hurt [Live]
  • 2.Bible Belt [Live]
  • 3.Second Choice [Live]
  • 4.Foolish Pride [Live]
  • 5.Nice Girls [Live]
  • 6.Yesterday's Love [Live]
  • 7.The Hook [Live]
  • 8.The Name Of The Game [Live]
  • 9.Girls Are Always Right [Live]
  • 10.Follow That Car [Live]
  • 11.Growing Up [Live]
  • 12.Turning Up The Heat [Live]
  • 13.Working On The Night Shift [Live]

Product Description:

Audio Remasterer: Simon Murphy .
Recording information: Battery Studio (04/20/1981-05/16/1981); Pennine Sound Studios, Oldham (04/20/1981-05/16/1981); Roundhouse Studios, London (04/20/1981-05/16/1981); The Venue, London (04/20/1981-05/16/1981); Battery Studio (05/31/1980); Pennine Sound Studios, Oldham (05/31/1980); Roundhouse Studios, London (05/31/1980); The Venue, London (05/31/1980).
Photographer: Panny Charrington.
Any Trouble belonged to the last wave of great Stiff acts -- the wave that arrived in the early '80s and were somewhat obscured by the success of Madness. Any Trouble sounded nothing like Madness. Led by Clive Gregson, they did indeed sound a bit like Elvis Costello, like so many bespectacled nerdy guys with guitars did in 1980 and 1981. That Costello comparison may have haunted Gregson for a while, but Any Trouble's records for Stiff -- 1980's Where Are All the Nice Girls?, 1981's Wheels in Motion, plus the promotional concert album Live at the Venue -- are strong, New Wave guitar pop in their own right: superlative pop with a slight ska beat that's irresistible thanks to its hooks and clever lyrics. This triple-disc set has those three records (the live set has been difficult to find, only seeing official release on Germany's Line in 1989), plus bonus tracks, making this a definitive portrait of the band, one that supplants all the previous worthy contenders. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Any Trouble

Product Info

  • UPC: 5013929159730
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)