Doc Watson Legacy (3-CD)

Legacy (3-CD)
11 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  WR9Y
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Cd Baby

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $0.991.Cousin Sally Brown
  • Buy for $0.992.I Played Like the Rest of the Boys - (interview)
  • Buy for $0.993.Dad Was a Harmonica Player - (interview)
  • Buy for $0.994.King's Treasure, The - (interview)
  • Buy for $0.995.Deep River Blues
  • Buy for $0.996.Cat With Ten Lives - (interview)
  • Buy for $0.997.Ruben's Train
  • Buy for $0.998.Learn to Pick It Good - (interview)
  • Buy for $0.999.Georgie Buck
  • Buy for $0.9910.Darlin' Cory
  • Buy for $0.9911.Doc's First Guitar - (interview)
  • Buy for $0.9912.When the Roses Bloom in Dixieland
  • Buy for $0.9913.Leaving Home - (interview)
  • Buy for $0.9914.Never No More Blues
  • Buy for $0.9915.Wood Sheddin' - (interview)
  • Buy for $0.9916.Beaumont Rag
  • Buy for $0.9917.Fingerstyle Guitar - (interview)
  • Buy for $0.9918.Freight Train

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Sittin' on Top of the World
  • 2.Playin' on the Street - (interview)
  • 3.Down the Road
  • 4.Bury Me Beneath the Willow
  • 5.Woman From Wildcat, The - (interview)
  • 6.Legend of Tom Dooley, The - (interview)
  • 7.Tom Dooley
  • 8.Hitting the Road - (interview)
  • 9.Going Solo - (interview)
  • 10.Top of the Heap - (interview)
  • 11.The Tennessee Stud
  • 12.Building Bridges - (interview)
  • 13.Ready For the Times to Get Better
  • 14.Living the Blues - (interview)
  • 15.Blessed - (interview)
  • 16.Rolling in My Sweet Baby's Arms

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Whiskey Before Breakfast / Ragtime Annie
  • 2.Shady Grove
  • 3.Whoop 'Em up Cindy
  • 4.Otto Wood
  • 5.Dad Taught Me to Play Harmonica
  • 6.Old Molly Hare
  • 7.Home Sweet Home
  • 8.Railroad Bill
  • 9.Train That Carried My Girl From Town
  • 10.Walk On
  • 11.Bantar vs. Gitjo
  • 12.Don't Get Weary
  • 13.Black Eyed Susie
  • 14.The Telephone Girl
  • 15.Stand by Me
  • 16.Just to Ease My Worried Mind
  • 17.Raincrow Bill / Hambone Rhythm
  • 18.I Got the Blues and I Can't Be Satisfied

Product Description:

Personnel: Doc Watson (vocals, guitar, harmonica); David Holt (vocals, slide guitar, banjo, mouth bow, harmonica).
Recorded live at the Diana Wortham Theatre, Asherville and The Loft, Boone, North Carolina between March 17 & April 19, 2001. Includes liner notes by David Holt.
LEGACY won the 2003 Grammy Award for Best Traditional Folk Album.
Anyone who has developed a deep love for Doc Watson will be elated by this three-disc biographical journey through his life and music. Two discs are devoted to conversations between Watson and longtime friend David Holt, in which Doc recalls his youth, his early career, and his tours with son Merle. Scattered throughout the interview are intimate performances of songs that Watson has played throughout his career, including "Deep River Blues," "Tom Dooley," and a version of "Tennessee Stud" that ranks among the most thrilling ever heard. The set's 72-page booklet, a detailed biography full of reminiscences, song notes, and rare photographs, is an absolute treasure, as fascinating as anything that is ever likely to be assembled on the man. Disc three is devoted to an excellent concert recorded at the Diana Wortham Theater in Ashville, NC, in 2001. Packed with favorites as well as some songs that Watson has never recorded, it proves that, at nearly 80, he is every bit as captivating as he was at Gerdes Folk City in the early '60s. It's a pity there aren't more sets like this around, but it seems fitting that the great Doc Watson should be among the first to have one. ~ Jim Smith

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.9
Based on 11 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Doc Watson

Product Info

  • UPC: 018106125824
  • Shipping Weight: 0.47/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)