Howard Vokes Songs of Tragedy and Disaster: Complete Starday Anthology

Songs of Tragedy and Disaster: Complete Starday
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Price: $8.98
List Price: $9.98
You Save: $1 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  GQRA
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Starday


  • Buy for $0.991.Don't Make Me Go to Bed and I'll Be Good
  • Buy for $0.992.Mama Please Stay Home With Me
  • Buy for $0.993.Put My Little Shoes Away
  • Buy for $0.994.A Child Without a Name
  • Buy for $0.995.Willie Roy, the Crippled Boy
  • Buy for $0.996.Old Shep
  • Buy for $0.997.The Death of Little Kathy Fiscus
  • Buy for $0.998.Miner's Fate
  • Buy for $0.999.The Sinking of the Titanic
  • Buy for $0.9910.Tragedy of Chicago
  • Buy for $0.9911.Tomorrow Is My Last Day
  • Buy for $0.9912.Death on the Highway
  • Buy for $0.9913.His Last Ride
  • Buy for $0.9914.Yellow Tomb
  • Buy for $0.9915.Cyclone of Rycove
  • Buy for $0.9916.Engineer's Last Ride

Product Description:

Includes liner notes by Chuck Young.
Liner Note Author: Chuck Young.
This CD collects all 14 tracks from Howard Vokes' 1964 Starday album, Tragedy and Disaster in Country Songs, plus "A Child Without a Name" and "Tomorrow Is My Last Day," which together comprise Vokes' complete output for the label. Vokes is an award-winning country music traditionalist whose open-throat singing style is heavily influenced by Roy Acuff, but his revivalist attitude doesn't prohibit the use of electric instruments, which are sparingly applied throughout his Starday recordings. Most tracks make use of a percussive Luther Perkins-style sock rhythm on electric guitar, while "Tragedy of Chicago" and "Yellow Tomb" make more prominent use of an electric guitar lead. The two non-album tracks exhibit a comparatively commercial production approach with mellifluous steel guitar, although the themes of these songs fit well with the overall concept of gloom and doom. The parade of maudlin stories will seem either terribly bleak or darkly humorous depending upon the listener's constitution. Typical of domestic King and Starday reissues, the CD comes with a one-sided, single-sheet booklet and very brief liner notes. ~ Greg Adams

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Sale Items:

Product Info

  • UPC: 792014512227
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)