James Brown Live At Montreux 1981 (DVD+CD)

Rating 4.3
3 ratings
List Price: $19.98
You Save: $12 (60% Off)
Unavailable: Sold Out

Save for Later
DVD  (2 Discs)
Item:  LM 39129D
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:
Also released as:

Customers who purchased this item also bought these:

Related products:

DVD Features:

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Rated: Not Rated
  • Run Time: 1 hours, 11 minutes
  • Video: Color
  • Encoding: Region 1 (USA & Canada)
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1981
  • Label: Eagle Rock Ent
  • Packaging: Keep Case
  • Aspect Ratio: Full Frame - 1.33
  • Audio:
    • Dolby Digital 5.1 - English
    1. Payback
    2. It's Too Funny in Here
    3. Gonna Have a Funky Good Time
    4. Try Me
    5. Get on the Good Foot
    6. It's a Man's Man's Man's World
    7. Prisoner of Love
    8. I Got the Feelin'
    9. Hustle (Dead on It)
    10. Papa's Got a Brand New Bag
    11. I Got You (I Feel Good)
    12. Please, Please, Please
    13. Jam
    14. Sex Machine

Performers, Cast and Crew:

Music Performer:

Description by OLDIES.com:

Founded in 1967, the Montreux Jazz Festival has established itself as one of the most prestigious annual music events in the world. The extraordinary list of artists who have played there is drawn from across the musical spectrum and from around the world. Now, with the consent of the festival and the artists, Eagle Vision is making these concerts available on DVD for the first time.

One of the defining elements of James Brown's career has always been his electrifying live shows, and his performances at Montreux give ample evidence of this. This DVD+CD set focuses on his appearance at the 1981 festival and is undeniably one of his finest concerts with classic versions of "It's A Man's Man's Man's World," "Papa's Got A Brand New Bag," "I Got You (I Feel Good)" and "Sex Machine."

DVD Tracks:

  • Payback
  • It's Too Funky In Here
  • Gonna Have A Funky Good Time
  • Try Me
  • Get On The Good Foot
  • It's A Man's Man's Man's World
  • Prisoner Of Love
  • I Got The Feelin'
  • Hustle (Dead On It)
  • Papa's Got A Brand New Bag
  • I Got You (I Feel Good)
  • Please, Please, Please
  • Jam
  • Sex Machine

CD Tracks:

  • Payback
  • It's Too Funky In Here
  • Try Me
  • Get On The Good Foot
  • It's A Man's Man's Man's World
  • I Got The Feelin'
  • Papa's Got A Brand New Bag
  • I Got You (I Feel Good)
  • Please, Please, Please
  • Sex Machine

Product Description:

While James Brown's unique vocal delivery and pioneering blend of soul, R&B, and funk have made him one of the most influential artists in American music, it's the Godfather of Soul's flamboyant stage presence that testifies to his stature as the hardest-working man in show business. This program captures Mr. Dynamite in his natural element with a concert chosen by the man himself as one of his all-time favorites. Brown's 1981 appearance at the prestigious Montreux Jazz Festival finds him at his tireless best as he whoops, hollers, and shimmies his way through raw and uninhibited live versions of classics like "Sex Machine," "Papa's Got a Brand New Bag," "I Got You (I Feel Good)," "Please, Please, Please," and "It's a Man's Man's Man's World." A bonus segment presents instrumentals performed by the band before Brown took the stage as well as two songs from his 1985 Montreux performance.

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Payback
  • 2.It's Too Funky in Here
  • 3.Try Me
  • 4.Get on the Good Foot
  • 5.It's a Man's Man's Man's World
  • 6.I Got the Feelin'
  • 7.Papa's Got a Brand New Bag
  • 8.I Got You (I Feel Good)
  • 9.Please, Please, Please
  • 10.Sex Machine

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Payback [DVD]
  • 2.It's Too Funky in Here [DVD]
  • 3.Gonna Have a Funky Good Time [DVD]
  • 4.Try Me [DVD]
  • 5.Get on the Good Foot [DVD]
  • 6.It's a Man's Man's Man's World [DVD]
  • 7.Prisoner of Love [DVD]
  • 8.I Got the Feelin' [DVD]
  • 9.Hustle (Dead on It) [DVD]
  • 10.Papa's Got a Brand New Bag [DVD]
  • 11.I Got You (I Feel Good) [DVD]
  • 12.Please, Please, Please [DVD]
  • 13.Jam [DVD]
  • 14.Sex Machine [DVD]

Plot Keywords:

Concert | Concerts | Live Performances | Music (General) | Music Video | R&B / Soul | Rhythm And Blues | Soul | Soul Music

Movie Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.3
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Movie Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Product Groupings:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for James Brown

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 14,986
  • UPC: 801213912995
  • Shipping Weight: 0.30/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

Top ranking titles in the R&B / Soul genre:

Top ranking DVD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday - Friday: 7am-10pm, Saturday: 9am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)