Weezer Make Believe

Make Believe
337 ratings
Price: $9.88
List Price: $10.98
You Save: $1.10 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  GQGD
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: May 10, 2005
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Geffen Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.74
4 stars out of 5 - "Cuomo's songs are his most plaintive and brilliant since PINKERTON....Not since Brian Wilson has an L.A.-pop mastermind gotten such musical mileage out of wanting to be an ordinary guy..."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.106
3 stars out of 5 - "Cuomo's nerdy every-kid persona continues to shine."
Paste (magazine) - "'Pardon Me' is Cuomo at his self-pitying best, a wistful bit of self-recrimination only Weezer can pull of without sounding completely absurd."


  • 1.Beverly Hills
  • 2.Perfect Situation
  • 3.This Is Such a Pity
  • 4.Hold Me
  • 5.Peace
  • 6.We Are All on Drugs
  • 7.The Damage in Your Heart
  • 8.Pardon Me
  • 9.My Best Friend
  • 10.The Other Way
  • 11.Freak Me Out
  • 12.Haunt You Every Day

Product Description:

Weezer: Scott Shriner, Rivers Cuomo, Pat Wilson, Brian Bell .
Personnel: Stephanie Eitel (vocals, background vocals); Doug Forsdick (guitar); Akiko Turamoto, Akiko Tarumoto (violin); Jason Freese (saxophone).
Audio Mixers: Rich Castey; Josh Abraham; Alan Moulder; Neal Avron; Rich Costey.
Recording information: Cello Studios, Los Angeles, CA (12/2003-02/2005); Grandmaster Recorders, Los Angeles, CA (12/2003-02/2005); Hensen Studios, Los Angeles, CA (12/2003-02/2005); Henson Studios, Los Angeles, CA (12/2003-02/2005).
Illustrator: Carson Ellis.
Photographers: Karl Koch; Sean Murphy.
Weezer opens its fifth record, 2005's MAKE BELIEVE, with the single "Beverly Hills," an anthemic slice of power-pop with a sing-along chorus and heart-on-the-sleeve vocals. The song makes it seem as though Weezer hadn't changed a speck since the band captured hearts of MTV fans and indie rockers alike with its 1994 eponymous debut. However, what follows is one of the quartet's most musically mature efforts--a diverse, gratifying album filled with Beatlesque hooks and guided by the skilled hand of producer Rick Rubin.
As frontman Rivers Cuomo shines a flashlight on himself with trademark insecurity on lines like "I have many doubts about my motives" and "I'm not the toughest guy," his voice quavers and quakes in the innocent style that has endeared him to so many. The mood of MAKE BELIEVE roams from the desperate late-night isolation of the piano-led "Perfect Situation" to the love-gone-wrong vibe of the synthesizer-heavy "This Is Such a Pity." The album ends on the lovelorn, weeping-guitar loneliness of "Haunt You Every Day," and it's clear that Cuomo is still a sad, pining poet in search of elusive serenity, but the group's songcraft is ever growing.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 337 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Weezer

Product Info

  • UPC: 602498812884
  • Shipping Weight: 0.23/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)