Carl Perkins Dance Album [Snapper Bonus Tracks]

Dance Album [Snapper Bonus Tracks]
5 ratings
Price: $20.69
List Price: $22.99
You Save: $2.30 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  3377H
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: October 22, 2007
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Snapper Uk


  • 1.Blue Suede Shoes
  • 2.Movie Magg
  • 3.Sure To Fall
  • 4.Gone, Gone, Gone
  • 5.Honey Don't
  • 6.Only You (And You Alone)
  • 7.Tennessee
  • 8.Right String Baby, But The Wrong Yo Yo
  • 9.Everybody's Trying To Be My Baby
  • 10.Matchbox
  • 11.Your True Love
  • 12.Boppin' The Blues
  • 13.Turn Around
  • 14.Let The Jukebox Keep On Playing
  • 15.All Mama's Children
  • 16.I'm Sorry, I'm Not Sorry
  • 17.Dixie Fried
  • 18.Forever Yours
  • 19.That's Right
  • 20.Glad All Over
  • 21.Lend Me Your Comb
  • 22.Honky Tonk Gal
  • 23.You Can't Make Love To Somebody
  • 24.That Don't Move Me
  • 25.Be Honest With Me
  • 26.Roll Over Beethoven
  • 27.Caldonia
  • 28.Her Love Rubbed Off
  • 29.Perkins Wiggle
  • 30.Put Your Cat Clothes On

Product Description:

DANCE ALBUM is one of the most important LPs in rock & roll history, and certainly among the top five rockabilly albums, as it is THE definitive recorded statement from rockabilly trailblazer Carl Perkins. It was originally released on Sun in 1958, just after Perkins mirrored Elvis Presley's path by leaving Sun for a major label, and consists of tracks Perkins recorded for Sun between '55 and '57 (his unquestionable peak). The breathless intensity of both the hits ("Blue Suede Shoes," "Boppin' the Blues," et al) and the lesser-known songs is as fervid and infectious as Elvis's own Sun sides.
Like Elvis and the other early rockabilly artists, Perkins blended country, blues, and R&B for a sparkling sound full of energy, lust, and pure jubilation. Perkins's roots in country were strong; "Sure to Fall" could be a lost Ernest Tubb cut, and on "Tennessee," Perkins namechecks Tubb, Red Foley, and even Eddy Arnold. The five bonus cuts appended to this seminal album are pure breakneck rockabilly, though; there's even a furious Jerry Lee Lewis piano solo on "Put Your Cat Clothes On." DANCE ALBUM is a timeless, vital piece of American musical history.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Carl Perkins

Product Info

  • UPC: 803415129126
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)