The Screaming Blue Messiahs Live At The BBC

Live At The BBC
1 rating
SUPER SAVINGS: $16.19 Limited Time Only
List Price: $18.98
You Save: $2.79 (15% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  3374W
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: February 23, 2009
  • Originally Released: 2009
  • Label: Hux Records


  • 1.Good And Gone
  • 2.Vision And Blues
  • 3.Frowing For Gold
  • 4.Tracking The Dog
  • 5.Let's Go Down To The Woods
  • 6.Happy Home
  • 7.Holiday Head
  • 8.President Kennedy's Mile
  • 9.Destroyer
  • 10.Wild Blue Yonder
  • 11.Twin Cadillac Valentine
  • 12.Good And Gone
  • 13.Tracking The Dog
  • 14.Talking Doll
  • 15.Sweet Water Pools
  • 16.I Wanna Be A Flintstone
  • 17.Big Brother Muscle

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Nigel Cross.
Though only three Screaming Blue Messiahs BBC sessions are included on this compilation, it actually has quite a bit of material, owing mainly to the inclusion of 11 songs recorded in concert (as opposed to in a studio) on March 30, 1985. Otherwise, the CD has three songs apiece from more standard BBC sessions (in both length and sound) from July 6, 1985, and November 12, 1987. The March 1985 session in particular might hold special interest for fans, as it captures the Screaming Blue Messiahs in a live situation not long after their recording career started, including a couple of songs they'd never put on their official releases. The sound on that portion is good, though not wonderful, on a set dominated by songs from their debut EP, Good & Gone, and their debut LP, Gun Shy, which had yet to be released when this concert was recorded. Some fans might appreciate the rawness of this session, as well as the inclusion of "Vision and Blues" (recorded at the Good & Gone sessions but not issued) and the more impressive Bill Carter original "Destroyer" (which the band never did put on one of its official releases). In all honesty, however, the unconverted might be unimpressed by the lack of variety in their rough bluesy punkish rock at this stage, and the more polished sound and performances of their subsequent Beeb sessions are actually preferable. That's even true of the one from just a few months later in July 1985, where even the two songs reprised from the March 1985 concert simply benefit from more creative tempo changes, eerie guitar textures, and clearer singing. All three of the songs on the November 1987 session are taken from their second full-length LP, Bikini Red, including of course a rendition of their modest U.K. hit "I Wanna Be a Flintstone" -- which, while a little ways from their rawest roots, is simply the most memorable tune here. The package is embellished by lengthy historical liner notes that serve not just as a useful guide to the sessions, but also as a reasonable overview of much of their origins and early career. ~ Richie Unterberger

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for The Screaming Blue Messiahs

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 124,100
  • UPC: 682970001036
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)