Sugarloaf Sugarloaf / Spaceship Earth - A Golden Classics Edition

Sugarloaf / Spaceship Earth - A Golden Classics
28 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  COL 5871
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1998
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

The rock quartet Sugarloaf hailed from Denver and had their biggest hit with "Green-Eyed Lady", which reached #3 in 1970. Take a listen to their 1975 single "Don't Call Us, We'll Call You" and you'll hear a snippet of The Beatles' "I Feel Fine" - this was one of the first songs to sample from another artist.


  • 1.Green-Eyed Lady
  • 2.Train Kept A-Rollin', The (Stroll On)
  • 3.Bach Doors Man / Chest Fever
  • 4.West Of Tomorrow
  • 5.Gold And The Blues
  • 6.Things Gonna Change Some
  • 7.Spaceship Earth
  • 8.Rusty Cloud
  • 9.I Don't Need You Baby
  • 10.Rollin' Hills
  • 11.Mother Nature's Wine
  • 12.Country Dawg
  • 13.Woman
  • 14.Music Box
  • 15.Tongue In Cheek
  • 16.Don't Call Us, We'll Call You (Bonus Track)

Product Description:

Contains 2 LPs on 1 CD: SUGARLOAF (1970)/SPACESHIP (1971).
Sugarloaf includes: Jerry Corbetta (vocals, keyboards); Bob Webber (guitar).
Liner Note Author: Mark Marymont.
Collectables' Sugarloaf/Spaceship Earth isn't a straight two-fer, since the label dropped tracks from each album in order to make them fit on one disc (nevertheless, they added "Don't Call Us, We'll Call You" as a bonus track). That will make the disc somewhat frustrating for collectors, but in its current incarnation, this disc functions as an extensive greatest hits, featuring all of Sugarloaf's charting singles with the exception of "Stars in My Eyes." Certainly, there's a lot of filler on here that will be of little interest to listeners who only want the hits, but there are several cuts that qualify as fun, enjoyable artifacts of early-'70s pop. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Collectables Records - Audio CDs

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.2
Based on 28 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
Rating 4.5 Two albums almost Music Lover: from Boone, IA US -- November, 15, 2005

It's great to have these two albums available, especially Spaceship Earth which I feel is the stronger of the two albums. The only complaint I have is the omission of Hot Water from Spaceship Earth. It messes up the continuity for me since I'm used to the original albums sequencing. Having Don't Call Us is nice, but I'd rather have Hot Water back where it belongs if it was my choice. Still, being able to listen to these two albums on disc is worth the price of admission.

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Sugarloaf

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 48,710
  • UPC: 090431587126
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking titles in the Pop / Rock genre:

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)