Pilot Magic - A Golden Classics Edition

Magic - A Golden Classics Edition
18 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  COL 5868
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 1998
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by OLDIES.com:

A magical collection. The Scottish trio Pilot had their biggest hit in 1975 when their song "Magic" went all the way to #5 on the Pop charts. They followed it up with "Just A Smile" and "January" (all produced by Alan Parsons) and you can hear them at their most magical on this collection of their best.

Entertainment Reviews:

Record Collector (magazine) - pp.90-91
3 stars out of 5 -- "[W]hile the familiar songs are the highlights, they do possess an engaging timelessness."


  • 1.Just A Smile
  • 2.Magic
  • 3.Lucky For Some
  • 4.The Girl Next Door
  • 5.Loveley Lady Smile
  • 6.Sooner Or Later
  • 7.Don't Speak Loudly
  • 8.Over The Moon
  • 9.Never Give Up
  • 10.High Into The Sky
  • 11.Auntie Iris
  • 12.Sky Blue
  • 13.Just Let Me Be (Bonus Track)
  • 14.January (Bonus Track)
  • 15.Do Me Good (Bonus Track)
  • 16.Mover, The (Bonus Track)
  • 17.Canada (Bonus Track)

Product Description:

Pilot: Bill Lyall (vocals, keyboards); Dave Paton (bass); Stuart Tosh (drums).
Personnel: David Paton (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, bass guitar); Stuart Tosh (drums, percussion).
With its swirling keyboards and falsetto vocals, "Magic" became one of the great one-shots of the '70s, and it shouldn't come as a surprise to anyone familiar with one-hit wonders that Pilot's accompanying full-length isn't as good. Despite the lack of strong material, the album is hardly without merit. Pilot, along with producer Alan Parsons, crafted an album of light prog-rock and melodic soft pop-rock. All of the album sounds terrific, and there are some catchy melodies, but there aren't many great songs, just a lot of adequate ones. As a result, it's simply an artifact of its era, but it's an enjoyable one at that. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Collectables Records - Audio CDs

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.1
Based on 18 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Pilot

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 55,868
  • UPC: 090431586822
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)