Flatt & Scruggs Folk Songs of Our Land / Fabulous Sounds of...

Folk Songs of Our Land / Fabulous Sounds of...
Price: $3.58
List Price: $3.98
You Save: $0.40 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  WSA4
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: March 17, 2009
  • Originally Released: 2009
  • Label: Wounded Bird


  • 1.The Legend Of The Johnson Boys
  • 2.The Wind Blows
  • 3.George Alley's F.F.V.
  • 4.Good Times Are Past & Gone
  • 5.Ellen Smith
  • 6.Suns Gonna Shine In My Back Door Someday
  • 7.This Land Is Your Land
  • 8.Philadelphia Lawyer
  • 9.Life Of Trouble
  • 10.Nine Pound Hammer
  • 11.I'll Be No Man's Wife
  • 12.McKinley's Gone
  • 13.Hello Stranger
  • 14.Amber Tresses Tied With Blue
  • 15.Good Times, The (Out Weigh The Bad)
  • 16.Bummin' An Old Freight Train
  • 17.I'm Walking With Him
  • 18.The Train That Carried My Girl From Town
  • 19.My Wandering Boy
  • 20.Georgia Buck
  • 21.Father's Table Grace
  • 22.When Papa Played The Dobro
  • 23.Please Don't Wake Me
  • 24.A Faded Red Ribbon

Product Description:

Recording information: 1962-1964.
It's difficult to even imagine modern bluegrass without the refinements that Lester Flatt and Earl Scruggs brought to the form, and it would be tough to find a contemporary bluegrass banjo player anywhere who didn't owe half of what they did on the instrument to the way Scruggs tore at it. This set combines two of Flatt & Scruggs' Columbia albums, 1962's Folk Songs of Our Land and 1964's The Fabulous Sound of Flatt and Scruggs, on one disc, and the two albums fit together very well, since both downplay the bluegrass elements for a more varied and folk-based feel, although don't worry, it's still bluegrass. Highlights include a haunting version of the traditional murder ballad "Ellen Smith," the nicely rendered Woody Guthrie gem "Philadelphia Lawyer," and nice, guitar dominated takes on Southern folk standards "The Train That Carried My Girl from Town" and "Georgia Buck." ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Flatt & Scruggs

Product Info

  • UPC: 664140863026
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)