Monty Alexander Calypso Blues: The Songs of Nat King Cole

Calypso Blues: The Songs of Nat King Cole
1 rating
Price: $28.79
List Price: $31.99
You Save: $3.20 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  WS6G
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2009
  • Label: Chesky Records


  • Buy for $0.991.Calypso Blues Part 1
  • Buy for $0.992.Ramblin' Rose
  • Buy for $0.993.To the Ends of the Earth
  • Buy for $0.994.Again
  • Buy for $0.995.Send For Me
  • Buy for $0.996.Almost Like Being In Love
  • Buy for $0.997.Hajji Baba
  • Buy for $0.998.Too Young / Faith Can Move Mountains
  • Buy for $0.999.Never Let Me Go
  • Buy for $0.9910.Can't See For Looking
  • Buy for $0.9911.Fascination
  • Buy for $0.9912.Sweet Georgia Brown
  • Buy for $0.9913.Calypso Blues Part 2

Product Description:

Personnel: Monty Alexander (melodica, piano); Lorin Cohen (upright bass); George Fludas (drums).
Monty Alexander follows up his tribute to Tony Bennett with an homage to another classic jazz singer, Nat King Cole. Also recorded in New York City at St. Peter's Episcopal Church with the same trio of Chicagoans Lorin Cohen on bass and drummer George Fludas, the veteran pianist seems more in his element with this artist's repertoire, one that sharply defined his own sound and thinking about popular jazz. Though all of the tunes selected are not so closely linked to Cole's hit parade songbook, the way Alexander plays them with subtlety and depth does reflect what made Cole the king in the late '50s and early '60s. With the immaculate sound and performance by this fine trio--not to mention that they don't play Cole's songbook by rote or by the numbers--it's hard to fault the effort, heart, and soul behind a concept album that should delight many jazz listeners.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Monty Alexander

Product Info

  • UPC: 090368033963
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)