Tune Wranglers 1936-1938

10% OFF
Rating 5.0
2 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown

Save for Later
Format: CD
Item:  KYK 28
on most orders of $75
Brand New
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

CD Details

  • Released: July 17, 2000
  • Label: Krazy Kat

Entertainment Reviews:

No Depression - 7-8/01, pp.113-4
"...A jazzy, semi-crazed cowboy band....The accent on playful, charming crowd-pleasing, and they surely did that..."


  • 1.It Was Midnight on the Ocean
  • 2.They Go Wild Over Me
  • 3.El Rancho Grande
  • 4.Texas Sand
  • 5.My Sweet Thing
  • 6.Sarah Jane
  • 7.Red's Tight Like That
  • 8.I Can't Change It
  • 9.Ragtime Cowboy Joe
  • 10.I'm Wild About That Thing
  • 11.She's Sweet
  • 12.Lonesome Blues
  • 13.Up Jumped the Devil
  • 14.I'll Be Hanged If They're Gonna Hang Me
  • 15.I Believe in You
  • 16.Oh, Look at That Baby
  • 17.I Wish You Were Jealous of Me
  • 18.Yesterday
  • 19.Hot Peanuts
  • 20.Let's Go
  • 21.Rodeo Rose
  • 22.Get With It
  • 23.It Don't Mean a Thing
  • 24.Black-Eyed Susan Brown
  • 25.Cowboys and Indians
  • 26.Shawnee
  • 27.Sweet Fiddle Blues

Product Description:

Tune Wranglers includes: Eddie Fielding, Tom Dickey, Charley Gregg, Buster Coward.
Recorded between 1936 & 1938. Includes liner notes by Andrew Brown.
Digitally remastered by Charlie Crump.
Audio Remasterer: Charlie Crump.
Recording information: Blue Bonnet Hotel, San Antonio, TX (02/27/1936-10/25/1938); Texas Hotel, San Antonio, TX (02/27/1936-10/25/1938).
One of the earliest and most entertaining Western swing groups, the Tune Wranglers specialized in both cowboy music and raucous, 1920s-style jazz and blues. Concerning the latter, they were among the greatest groups of their day, turning out exciting, swinging material that was the equal of Bob Wills in daring if not quality. The group's rowdy banter and call-and-response harmonizing are immensely entertaining, reminiscent of the Maddox Brothers & Rose and early Bill Monroe. This is especially true of the sides featuring pianist Eddie Whitley, a master of barrelhouse jazz who could turn any old song into a hard-swinging good time. All told, this is a fairly astonishing listen featuring the group's only hit, "Texas Sand," and other splendid moments such as "El Rancho Grande," "Red's Tight Like That," and the twisted novelty "Sarah Jane." ~ Jim Smith

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info:

  • UPC: 008637602826
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item