Merle Travis Merle Travis Story: 24 Greatest Hits

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.1
7 ratings
12 copies available
List Price: $15.98
Your Price: $14.38
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  CMH 9018

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1994
  • Label: Cmh Records


  • 1.John Henry
  • 2.Start Even
  • 3.Smoke! Smoke! Smoke! (That Cigarette)
  • 4.Lazy River
  • 5.So Round So Firm So Fully Packed
  • 6.Sweet Temptation
  • 7.Divorce Me C. O. D.
  • 8.I Am a Pilgrim
  • 9.Cincinatti Lou
  • 10.Dance of the Goldenrod
  • 11.Fat Gal
  • 12.Re-Enlistment Blues
  • 13.Nine Pound Hammer
  • 14.Kentucky Means Paradise
  • 15.Sixteen Tons
  • 16.Steel Guitar Rag
  • 17.Goodbye My Bluebell
  • 18.I Like My Chicken Fryin' Size
  • 19.When My Baby Double Talks to Me
  • 20.Dark as a Dungeon
  • 21.I'm a Natural Born Gamblin' Man
  • 22.Bayou Baby
  • 23.I'll See You in My Dreams
  • 24.That's All

Product Description:

Personnel: Merle Travis (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Herb Remington (steel guitar); Johnny Gimble (mandolin, fiddle); Alex Brashear (trumpet); Curly Hollingsworth (piano); Buddy Harman (drums).
Recording information: John Wagner Studios, Albuquerque, NM (06/01/1979).
Photographer: Woody Woodward.
Although The Merle Travis Story -- 24 Greatest Hits consists of re-recordings from the late '70s, it gives a better sense of why Travis was important than Rhino's The Best of Merle Travis. Unlike Rhino's set, CMH concentrates on Travis' guitar playing, which is why he was an important musician. Therefore, it gives a far better sense of why the guitarist was a revered, influential artist than the vocal hits of Rhino's collection, even if the music was recorded late in his career. ~ Thom Owens

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.1
Based on 7 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Product Groupings:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Merle Travis

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 101,169
  • UPC: 027297901827
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD: