Hawkwind Levitation [Expanded Edition] (3-CD)

Levitation [Expanded Edition] (3-CD)
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  38KEG
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: Cleopatra

Entertainment Reviews:

Record Collector (magazine) - p.82
4 stars out of 5 -- "[W]ith returning founder member Huw Lloyd Langton delivering spellbindingly crisp lead lines to contrast the backbone of Dave Brock's grungy guitar..."
Uncut (magazine) - p.73
"[Huw Lloyd-Langton's] devastating modal guitar playing instantly sharpened up the band's game."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Levitation
  • 2.Motorway City
  • 3.Psychosis
  • 4.World Of Tiers
  • 5.Prelude
  • 6.Who's Gonna Win The War
  • 7.Space Chase
  • 8.The Fifth Second Of Forever
  • 9.Dust Of Time
  • 10.Valium 10 (Full Version)
  • 11.Time Of
  • 12.Who's Gonna Win The War (Hawklords Version)
  • 13.Douglas In The Jungle
  • 14.British Tribal Music
  • 15.Nuclear Toy
  • 16.Who's Gonna Win The War (Single Version)
  • 17.Brainstorm (Live 1980)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Technicians Of Spaceship Earth [Live At Lewisham Odeon 18th December 1980]
  • 2.Levitation [Live At Lewisham Odeon 18th December 1980]
  • 3.Motorway City [Live At Lewisham Odeon 18th December 1980]
  • 4.Death Trap [Live At Lewisham Odeon 18th December 1980]
  • 5.Angels Of Death [Live At Lewisham Odeon 18th December 1980]
  • 6.5th Second Of Forever [Live At Lewisham Odeon 18th December 1980]
  • 7.Dust Of Time [Live At Lewisham Odeon 18th December 1980]

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Running Through My Back Brain (Messages) [Live At Lewisham Odeon 18th December 1980]
  • 2.Dangerous Vision [Live At Lewisham Odeon 18th December 1980]
  • 3.Who's Gonna Win The War [Live At Lewisham Odeon 18th December 1980]
  • 4.Psi Power [Live At Lewisham Odeon 18th December 1980]
  • 5.Shot Down In The Night [Live At Lewisham Odeon 18th December 1980]
  • 6.World Of Tiers / Space Chase [Live At Lewisham Odeon 18th December 1980]

Product Description:

Hawkwind: Dave Brock (vocals, guitar, synthesizer); Huw Lloyd-Langton (guitar);, Tim Blake (keyboards, synthesizer); Harvey Bainbridge (bass); Ginger Baker (drums).
Producers: Ashley Howe, Dave Brock, Harvey Bainbridge, Huw Lloyd-Langton.
Engineers: Ashley Howe, Jools Cooper, Nick Rodgers.
An excellent album that thoroughly dismisses any fears that recent personnel upheavals might have damaged Hawkwind in the slightest. Recorded with veteran drummer Ginger Baker as an absolutely astonishing replacement for the departing Simon King and with Huw Lloyd Langton clearly reveling in the guitar hero status accorded by the watching ranks of the New Wave of British Heavy Metal, Levitation captures Hawkwind at their most confident and brash. Certainly the mighty "Who's Gonna Win the War" has few peers within even the classic lineup's vocabulary, with its drift out of Tim Blake's brief but beautiful "Prelude," a transition to be proud of. Feeling ever so slightly churlish, one could point to the absence of Robert Calvert and Nik Turner as a decisive blow in the songwriting departure -- there is certainly a hint of style over substance hanging around a few of the lesser numbers ("Space Chase," "World of Tiers," "5th Second of Forever"). But the relentless crunch that occasionally deputizes for melody has excitement of its own, especially when paired with a Baker/Harvey Bainbridge rhythm section that simply doesn't know when to quit. Just missing the U.K. Top 20 upon release in November 1980, Levitation has since fallen into a degree of disrepute on account of its contents' ubiquity in the world of less than stellar Hawkwind compilations. Return to the original disc, however, and that reputation is certainly not deserved. ~ Dave Thompson

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Hawkwind

Product Info

  • UPC: 741157113228
  • Shipping Weight: 0.72/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)