Bottle Rockets Bottle Rockets / The Brooklyn Side (2-CD)

Bottle Rockets / The Brooklyn Side (2-CD)
Price: $17.08
List Price: $18.98
You Save: $1.90 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  38GYK
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: November 19, 2013
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: Bloodshot Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Early in the Morning
  • 2.Gas Girl
  • 3.Trailer Mama
  • 4.Wave That Flag
  • 5.Kerosene
  • 6.Every Kinda Everything
  • 7.Got What I Wanted
  • 8.Manhattan Countryside
  • 9.Rural Route
  • 10.Bud Nanney Theme
  • 11.The Very Last Time
  • 12.Hey Moon
  • 13.Lonely Cowboy
  • 14.Indianapolis [Acoustic Demo]
  • 15.Manhattan Countryside [Acoustic Demo]
  • 16.Wallflower [Acoustic Demo]
  • 17.Idiot's Revenge [Acoustic Demo]
  • 18.Dead Dog Memories [Acoustic Demo]
  • 19.Hey Moon
  • 20.Get Down River
  • 21.White Trash
  • 22.Radar Gun
  • 23.Lonely Cowboy
  • 24.Coffee Monkey
  • 25.Wave That Flag
  • 26.Brand New Year

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Welfare Music
  • 2.Gravity Fails
  • 3.I'll Be Comin' Around
  • 4.Radar Gun
  • 5.Sunday Sports
  • 6.Pot of Gold
  • 7.1000 Dollar Car
  • 8.Idiot's Revenge
  • 9.Young Lovers in Town
  • 10.Take Me to the Bank
  • 11.What More Can I Do?
  • 12.Stuck in a Rut
  • 13.I Wanna Come Home
  • 14.Queen of the World
  • 15.This Is What It Sounds Like When You're Listening to Lindsey Buckingham and Thinking of Your Friend's Girlfriend at the Same Time [Acoustic Demo]
  • 16.Building Chryslers [Acoustic Demo]
  • 17.Smokin' 100's Alone [Acoustic Demo]
  • 18.Truck Driving Man
  • 19.Welfare Music
  • 20.Farmer John

Product Description:

Audio Remasterer: Paul Gold.
Liner Note Authors: Tony Margherita; Dave Marsh ; Peter Blackstock; Mark Ortmann; Richard Byrne; Geoffrey Himes; Mark Kemp; James McMurtry; Jason Ringenberg; John Keane; Lucinda Williams; Mark Jacobson ; Eric Boehlert; Marshall Crenshaw; Mike Heidorn; Otis Gibbs; Patterson Hood; Peter Holsapple; Steve Earle; Bun E. Carlos.
Recording information: Coyote Recording Studio, Williamsburg, Brooklyn (03/1993); John Keane Studios, Athens, GA (03/1993); Long View Farm Studios, North Brookfield, MA (03/1993); St. Louis, MO (03/1993); Coyote Recording Studio, Williamsburg, Brooklyn (1989); John Keane Studios, Athens, GA (1989); Long View Farm Studios, North Brookfield, MA (1989); St. Louis, MO (1989); Coyote Recording Studio, Williamsburg, Brooklyn (1991); John Keane Studios, Athens, GA (1991); Long View Farm Studios, North Brookfield, MA (1991); St. Louis, MO (1991).
Photographers: Michael Caiati; Mark Ortmann; Steve Daly; Tracy Caiati.
In many respects, the Bottle Rockets were victims of bad timing; when they arrived on the scene with their first album in 1993, many alt-country fans were looking for music that was serious and "said something," and the band's defiant hard rock moves and Lynyrd Skynyrd influences didn't give them a very high cool rating, despite the undeniable strength of their songwriting and the endorsement of alt-country icons Jeff Tweedy and Jay Farrar. The critical respect and commercial success the Drive-By Truckers would earn after 2001's Southern Rock Opera was the victory the Bottle Rockets should have claimed, confirming there was an audience ready for their blue collar smarts and rowdy, guitar-fueled attack, though that wasn't clear until after the BoRox's major-label deal fizzled out. Bloodshot Records has reissued the Bottle Rockets' first two albums in a deluxe package, and two decades on, it's hard to imagine how a band this good (and accessible) didn't earn more than a loyal cult following on the strength of these records. 1993's Bottle Rockets was knocked out in just two days, and sometimes it sounds like it; John Keane's recording is clear but the production is on the level of a good demo, with no frills and an approach that doesn't always make the most of the twin-guitar attack of Brian Henneman and Tom Parr. The band sounds ferociously tight, though, and the songs are great, especially "Rural Route," "Wave That Flag," "Kerosene," and "Manhattan Countryside," all brilliant snapshots of life in the Deep South as the divide between the haves and have-nots was growing deeper each day. 1995's The Brooklyn Side paired the Bottle Rockets with Eric "Roscoe" Ambel, a producer who got their hard rock thunder on tape as well as their quiet side -- those guitars get beefed up mightily, and bassist Tom V. Ray and drummer Mark Ortmann are better served as well -- and the result was a triumph. "Welfare Music" was a brilliant statement of political purpose; "Radar Gun" a superb, tough-as-nails character study; "Gravity Fails" and "$1,000 Car" found stories worth hearing in a regular guy's life, and "Take Me to the Bank" is one of the best and most joyous Chuck Berry lifts of the '90s. Both albums sound as smart, muscular, and rousing as they did on the day they were released, and this set also includes a wealth of unreleased demos and live recordings, including several tracks from the band's early incarnation as Chicken Truck. Add in a 40-page booklet packed with photos and praise from friends, colleagues and admirers (ranging from Steve Earle to Bun E. Carlos), and you get the definitive portrait of the Bottle Rockets' formative years. Thankfully, they're still at it, but this remains some of their finest work to date, and whether you missed them back in the day or are updating your library, this set is a must. ~ Mark Deming

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Sale Items:
Get Email Alerts for Bottle Rockets

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 110,942
  • UPC: 744302021225
  • Shipping Weight: 0.30/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

Top ranking titles in the Country & Bluegrass genre:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)