Gary Stewart The Best of the Hightone Years

The Best of the Hightone Years
4 ratings
12 copies available
Price: $12.58
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $1.40 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  HSEJ
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Hightone Records


  • Buy for $1.291.Rainin' Rainin' Rainin'
  • Buy for $1.292.Brand New Whiskey
  • Buy for $1.293.Nothin' But a Woman
  • Buy for $1.294.Make It a Double
  • Buy for $1.295.I'm a Texan
  • Buy for $1.296.Empty Glass, An
  • Buy for $1.297.Nothin' Cheap About a Cheap Affair
  • Buy for $1.298.Bedroom Battleground
  • Buy for $1.299.I Get Drunk
  • Buy for $1.2910.Delia
  • Buy for $1.2911.Honky Tonk Hardwood Floor
  • Buy for $1.2912.Come on In
  • Buy for $1.2913.Let's Go Jukin'

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Gary Stewart (vocals); Kenny Bell, Chip Young, Dino Zimmerman, Biff Watson, Bill Hulet (acoustic guitar); Dale Sellars, Reggie Young (electric guitar); Warren Hayes (slide guitar); Sonny Garrish, Steve Hinson, Paul Franklin (steel guitar); Hank Singer (fiddle); Charlie McCoy (harmonica); Fred Bogert (keyboards); Larry Paxton, Harold Bradley (bass); Jerry Kroon, Milton Sledge (drums); Buddy Cannon, Carla Hunter, Kim Morrison, Tracy Nelson (background vocals).
Engineers include: Bill Harris, Larry Cummings, Joe Funderburk.
Recorded at Music City Music Hall, Creative Workshop, House Of David, Studio C, Nashville, Tennessee.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Personnel: Chip Young, Biff Watson, Kenny Bell, Dino Zimmerman (acoustic guitar); Dale Sellars, Reggie Young (electric guitar); Warren Haynes (slide guitar); Paul Franklin , Sonny Garrish, Steve Hinson (steel guitar); Hank Singer (fiddle); Charlie McCoy (harmonica); David Briggs (piano); Fred Bogert (keyboards); Harold Bradley (bass guitar); Jerry Kroon, Milton Sledge (drums); Carla Hunter, Kim Morrison, Tracy Nelson, Buddy Cannon (background vocals).
Recording information: Creative Workshop, Nashville, TN; House Of David, Nashville, TN; Music City Music Hall, Nashville, TN; Studio C, Nashville, TN.
Gary Stewart has never fit comfortably into anyone's preconceptions about what a country singer should be. With a voice like Jerry Lee Lewis fed through a tremolo effect, and a hard-hitting approach to barroom ballads, Stewart has never been a part of any movement but very much his own man. He recorded for various labels earlier in his career, with varying success, but by the time he landed at indie haven Hightone, the renegade found just the right home, and this collection of latter-day recordings is uncommonly consistent. "Brand New Whiskey" demonstrates Stewart's ability to wring new variations on the time-tested format of the drinking song. "Nothin' But a Woman" flirts with southern rock courtesy of Warren Haynes's slide guitar. "I Get Drunk" is a humor-filled, self-penned tune full of self-effacement, while Stewart's take on Johnny Horton's rockabilly hit "Honky Tonk Hardwood Floor" is successfully updated without sounding overly modernized. Stewart's gift is in subtly twisting the conventions of country music to fit his own wonderfully skewed vision, a gift which is presented in abundance on this collection.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 4 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
The Best of the Hightone Years Music Lover: from SIOUX LOOKOUT, ONTARIO CA -- April, 30, 2015

This is simply another home-run for Gary Stewart. There are songs on this CD that I have never heard him sing before but are sure to be taking their place in my heart as favourites. I really love this man's voice and wish he were still with us
R. I. P. Gary..

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Sale Items:
Get Email Alerts for Gary Stewart

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 35,789
  • UPC: 012928814126
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)