Mickey & Sylvia Love Is Strange - A Golden Classics Edition

Love Is Strange - A Golden Classics Edition
11 ratings
SALE: $10.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $3.99 (27% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  COL 5833
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 1997
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by OLDIES.com:

Mickey Baker and Sylvia Robinson are perhaps best remembered for the sly, playful and sexy interplay on their recordings but they also recorded some wonderful Rock and R&B. Mickey was a great guitar player (Sylvia was a former student) and they had their biggest hit with "Love Is Strange" in 1957. Both later enjoyed successful solo careers - Mickey as a session man; Sylvia began her solo career in 1973 with the hit "Pillow Talk" and co-founded the rap label Sugar Hill.


  • 1.Love Is Strange
  • 2.Se De Boom Run Dun
  • 3.Where Is My Honey
  • 4.I'm So Glad
  • 5.Rise Sally Rise
  • 6.No Good Lover
  • 7.Walkin' In The Rain
  • 8.I'm Going Home
  • 9.There Oughta Be A Law
  • 10.Dearest
  • 11.Bewildered
  • 12.Mommy Out De Light
  • 13.This Is My Story
  • 14.Say The Word
  • 15.Love Is A Treasure
  • 16.What Would I Do
  • 17.Oh Yeah! Un-Huh
  • 18.Love Will Make You Fail In School

Product Description:

Mickey & Sylvia: Mickey Baker (vocals, guitar); Sylvia Robinson (vocals).
Personnel: Mickey Baker (vocals, guitar).
Liner Note Author: Mark Marymont.
Mostly remembered for their prescient 1957 hit "Love Is Strange," there was far more to Mickey Baker and Sylvia Robinson than met the eye. For starters, Baker was a brilliant guitar player (Robinson was a fair guitarist, as well), and the duo's calypso-tinged R&B style left plenty of room for his startling lead lines. With a casually light, but still sassy and sexy vocal style, Mickey & Sylvia managed to sound both innocent and not so innocent, and somehow all at once, on songs like "Mommy out de Light" and the mock indictment "Love Will Make You Fail in School." All of these songs are included in this brief ten-track set, which will get you started, but once you see what Mickey & Sylvia bring to the table, you'll probably want more. ~ Steve Leggett
Collectables Records

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 11 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Mickey & Sylvia

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 19,024
  • UPC: 090431583326
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Collectables Records - Audio CDs:

Collectables Records Labels:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)