Arthur Smith Fiddlin' Arthur Smith & His Dixieliners [County]

Fiddlin' Arthur Smith & His Dixieliners [County]
10% OFF
Rating 5.0
2 ratings
List Price: $15.98
Your Price: $14.38
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown

Save for Later
Format: CD
Item:  V62W
on most orders of $50
Brand New
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: County Records


  • Buy for $0.991.Straw Breakdown
  • Buy for $0.992.Fiddler's Blues
  • Buy for $0.993.I've Had a Big Time Today
  • Buy for $0.994.Going to Town
  • Buy for $0.995.Peacock Rag
  • Buy for $0.996.Weary Weary World
  • Buy for $0.997.Indian Creek
  • Buy for $0.998.Dickson County Blues No. 2
  • Buy for $0.999.I'm Bound to Ride
  • Buy for $0.9910.K.C. Stomp
  • Buy for $0.9911.Gypsy's Warning
  • Buy for $0.9912.Bonaparte's Retreat
  • Buy for $0.9913.Take Me Back to Tennessee
  • Buy for $0.9914.Paris Waltz
  • Buy for $0.9915.In the Pines
  • Buy for $0.9916.Dickson County Blues
  • Buy for $0.9917.Little Darling
  • Buy for $0.9918.Red Apple Rag
  • Buy for $0.9919.Adieu False Heart
  • Buy for $0.9920.Cheatham County Breakdown
  • Buy for $0.9921.Hesitating Blues
  • Buy for $0.9922.Smith's Rag

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Arthur Smith (vocals, banjo, fiddle); Herold Goodman (vocals); Joe Forrester (bass).
Recorded between January 22, 1935 & October 7, 1940. Includes liner notes by Charles Wolfe.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Personnel: Fiddlin' Arthur Smith (vocals, banjo, fiddle); Alton Delmore (vocals, guitar); Rabon Delmore (vocals, tenor guitar); Clyde Moody, Billy Byrd (guitar); Tommy Magness (fiddle).
Audio Remasterer: Christopher [1] C. King.
Liner Note Author: Charles K. Wolfe.
Recording information: Atlanta, GA (01/22/1935-10/07/1940); Charlotte, NC (01/22/1935-10/07/1940); New Orleans, LA (01/22/1935-10/07/1940); Rock Hill, SC (01/22/1935-10/07/1940).
This well-produced overview covers the years 1937-1940 and includes "Weary Weary World," "Red Apple Rag," "Little Darling," and several other hits (although it strangely omits "Walking in My Sleep," "Love Letters in the Sand," and "Beautiful Brown Eyes," some of Smith's other hits of the time). One doesn't need to hear hits, though, to appreciate Smith's tremendous skill, and with the Delmore Brothers on hand for a number of songs, this is nothing short of terrific. The liner notes provide some of the best insight yet into Smith's life and career and show definitively why he was such a tremendous influence on the first generation of bluegrass musicians. ~ Jim Smith

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Arthur Smith

Product Info:

  • UPC: 009001352620
  • Shipping Weight: 0.19/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)