Gary Puckett & The Union Gap Golden Classics Edition

Golden Classics Edition
27 ratings
SALE: $10.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $3.99 (27% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  COL 5826
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 1997
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

Gary Puckett & The Union Gap had one of the most distinctive sounds - and one of the most successful pop careers - of the late '60s. Turn on your AM radio and these were the songs you heard - "Woman, Woman", "Young Girl", "Lady Willpower", "Over You" - all collected here with more Pop pleasures.


  • 1.Woman, Woman
  • 2.M' Lady
  • 3.By The Time I Get To Phoenix
  • 4.Paindrops
  • 5.Believe Me
  • 6.I Want A New Day
  • 7.You Better Sit Down Kids
  • 8.Kentucky Woman
  • 9.My Son
  • 10.To Love Somebody
  • 11.Don't Make Promises
  • 12.Young Girl
  • 13.Lady Madonna
  • 14.Kiss Me Goodbye
  • 15.Pleasure Of You
  • 16.Dreams Of The Everyday Housewife
  • 17.I'm Losing You
  • 18.Honey (I Miss You)
  • 19.Mighty Quinn
  • 20.Wait Till The Sun Shines On You
  • 21.(Sweet Sweet Baby) Since You've Been Gone
  • 22.Say You Don't Need Me
  • 23.Don't Give In To Him
  • 24.Lady Willpower
  • 25.Let's Give Adam & Eve Another Chance
  • 26.Over You
  • 27.This Girl Is A Woman Now

Product Description:

2 LPs on 1 CD: WOMAN, WOMAN (1968)/YOUNG GIRL (1968).
Liner Note Author: Mark Marymont.
In essence, Collectables Records' Gary Puckett & the Union Gap compilation A Golden Classics Edition is a two-fer CD combining the group's first two albums, named after its first two singles, Woman, Woman and Young Girl. But the addition at the end of the disc of the next five singles -- "Lady Willpower," "Over You," "Don't Give in to Him," "This Girl Is a Woman Now," and "Let's Give Adam and Eve Another Chance" -- makes this a more thorough best-of for the group, at a generous 76-minute running time. Gary Puckett & the Union Gap was very much a singles act; the first six of those seven singles, all of which reached the Top 15 and four of which went gold, are all most people know the band for. The full contents of the first two albums suggest that that is all the group should be known for, too. The albums are clearly afterthoughts thrown together to generate some LP sales tied into the hit singles. They are dominated by covers of hit records that were in the charts at the time: Glen Campbell's "By the Time I Get to Phoenix" and "Dreams of the Everyday Housewife" (although, to be fair, Puckett recorded the latter before Campbell scored a hit with it); Cher's "You Better Sit Down Kids"; Neil Diamond's "Kentucky Woman"; the Bee Gees' "To Love Somebody"; the Beatles' "Lady Madonna"; Petula Clark's "Kiss Me Goodbye"; Bobby Goldsboro's "Honey"; Manfred Mann's "The Mighty Quinn"; and Aretha Franklin's "(Sweet Sweet Baby) Since You've Been Gone." The arrangements ape the hit versions, and Puckett gamely applies his tastefully soulful voice to them. There are also some other songs, all of them forgettable except for a good version of Tim Hardin's "Don't Make Promises." An actual greatest-hits set would probably include Puckett's two solo chart entries and selections from subsequent albums. But this collection really contains all that a '60s music fan would want from Gary Puckett & the Union Gap. ~ William Ruhlmann
Collectables Records

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 27 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Gary Puckett & The Union Gap

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 8,871
  • UPC: 090431582626
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Rock & Pop Music Categories:

Collectables Records - Audio CDs:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)