Tom Russell Indians Cowboys Horses Dogs

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.9
11 ratings
List Price: $13.98
Your Price: $12.58
You Save: $1.40 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Item:  HIG 8165
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

CD Details

  • Released: February 24, 2004
  • Label: Hightone Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Uncut - 5/04, p.98
5 stars out of 5 - "This is a wonderful album of inspired writing and fiery performances, depicting a love of the West, its people, traditions and threatened culture."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.96
3 stars out of 5 - "[F]olky fireside songs, Tex-Mex and midtempo cowboy ballads that mix sentimentality and swagger."


  • 1.Tonight We Ride
  • 2.Seven Curses
  • 3.Paso, El
  • 4.All This Way for the Short Ride
  • 5.Bucking Horse Moon
  • 6.Lily, Rosemary, and the Jack of Hearts
  • 7.No Telling
  • 8.Bacon Rind, Chief Seattle, the Ballad of Ira Hayes
  • 9.Old Blue
  • 10.East Texas Red
  • 11.The Ballad of Edward Abbey
  • 12.Little Blue Horse

Product Description:

Personnel: Tom Russell (vocals, guitar, harmonica); Eliza Gilkyson, Joe Ely (vocals); Andrew Hardin (guitar, drums, background vocals); Elana Fremerman (fiddle); Joel Guzman (accordion, Hammond B-3 organ); Mark Hallman (bass); The Monumental Juarez Bull Ring Band.
Personnel: Tom Russell (vocals, guitar, harmonica); Eliza Gilkyson, Joe Ely (vocals); Andrew Hardin (guitar, drums); Elana Fremerman (fiddle); Joel Jose Guzman (accordion, organ).
Audio Mixer: Mark Hallman.
Recording information: Congress House Studio.
Unknown Contributor Role: Plaza Monumental Juarez Bull Ring Band.
As its title suggests, Tom Russell's Indians Cowboys Horses Dogs finds him returning to the sound of the Southwest and the Old West in a combination of originals and covers. He has dug into his record collection and found a clutch of appropriate material including Marty Robbins' "El Paso," Peter La Farge's "The Ballad of Ira Hayes" (prefaced by two spoken word character studies of Native Americans), and Bob Dylan's "Lily, Rosemary and the Jack of Hearts" (on which he alternates verses in the nearly ten-minute track with Eliza Gilkyson and Joe Ely). Less well-known are Linda Thompson's "No Telling," Woody Guthrie's "East Texas Red," and Dylan's overwrought early song "Seven Curses." Russell's own compositions fit in well with the Western imagery of these story-songs. In the leadoff track, "Tonight We Ride," he quickly name-drops Pancho Villa, and his lyrics about dogs and horses, while providing a bit of comic relief, are much in keeping with the rest. Russell sings in a rough voice that occasionally breaks into falsetto yelp, as his and Andrew Hardin's interweaving guitars make up the main part of the drumless arrangements. This is a rough-hewn, low-key effort, well represented by the Russell paintings that grace the CD package, looking like examples of Southwestern folk art. ~ William Ruhlmann

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.9
Based on 11 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Tom Russell

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 127,803
  • UPC: 012928816526
  • Shipping Weight: 0.12/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item