Philip Chaffin Somethin' Real Special: The Songs of Dorothy Fields

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
List Price: $17.97
Your Price: $16.17
You Save: $1.80 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  PSCC 1318

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Label: P.S. Classics


  • 1.Remind Me
  • 2.Carousel in the Park
  • 3.I'm in the Mood for Love / Don't Blame Me
  • 4.A Cow and a Plow and a Frau
  • 5.You're a Lovable Lunatic
  • 6.Somethin' Real Special
  • 7.Alone Too Long
  • 8.Diga Diga Doo
  • 9.Sweet Charity
  • 10.April Snow
  • 11.Then You Went and Changed Your Mind
  • 12.Let Me Look at You / The Way You Look Tonight
  • 13.I'll Buy You a Star
  • 14.Where Am I Going?
  • 15.Exactly Like You

Product Description:

For his fourth solo disc, actor-singer Philip Chaffin turns to one of the most gifted songwriters of Broadway's Golden Age, the great lyricist Dorothy Fields. One of Broadway's most talented wordsmiths, Fields was also one of its most adaptable, with a career spanning nearly half a century. Her illustrious collaborators included Jimmy McHugh, Jerome Kern, Harold Arlen, Arthur Schwartz and Cy Coleman, and with them, she created some of the most enduring classics of the Great American Songbook. Among the hits heard here are "I'm in the Mood for Love," "Don't Blame Me," "Exactly Like You," "Remind Me," and Fields' Oscar-winning "The Way You Look Tonight," but Chaffin also mines some of her lesser-known gems, no less glorious, including "Then You Went and Changed Your Mind" (with McHugh), "Carousel in the Park" (with Sigmund Romberg), "A Cow and a Plow and a Frau" (with Morton Gould), "You're a Lovable Lunatic" (with Coleman) and two with Arlen: "Let Me Look at You" and the unpublished tune that gives the album its title. The magazine Southern Breeze recently described Chaffin as "a true crooner in the tradition of the greats, from Tony Bennett and Sinatra to Harry Connick, Jr. and Michael Buble. He doesn't just sing a song; he vocally caresses it." The pairing of Chaffin and Fields proves especially felicitous. As Tony Award-winning composer Maury Yeston notes in the album's liner notes, "There's an elegance, exuberance and effortlessness to Fields' lyrics; the same could be said of Chaffin's performing style. For some reason, few men have taken on the Fields catalog; this album turns out to be a perfect match of singer and songwriter."

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Philip Chaffin

Product Info:

  • UPC: 803607131821
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item