Hank Penny Flamin' Mamie 1938-1941

Flamin' Mamie 1938-1941
Price: $17.08
List Price: $18.98
You Save: $1.90 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  JYAR
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: July 20, 2004
  • Label: Krazy Kat


  • 1.Flamin' Mamie
  • 2.I've Got the Right Key Baby
  • 3.Cheatin' On You Baby
  • 4.She's Just That Kind
  • 5.Blue Melody
  • 6.Yankee Doodle
  • 7.The Last Goodbye
  • 8.Tonight You Belong to Me
  • 9.You're So Different
  • 10.Black Eyed Susie
  • 11.Take It Slow and Easy
  • 12.I Told Them All About You
  • 13.Just a Message
  • 14.Just Forget
  • 15.I Don't Love Anybody But You
  • 16.Looking for Someone to Love
  • 17.Just for Old Time's Sake
  • 18.One of Us Was Wrong
  • 19.They're All Just the Same to Me
  • 20.I Hate to Lose You
  • 21.Walking Home from an Old Country School
  • 22.Steel Guitar Hula
  • 23.Somebody
  • 24.Why Did I Cry?
  • 25.Standing 'Neath the Old Pine Tree
  • 26.Army Blues
  • 27.Off to Honolulu
  • 28.Midnight Blues

Product Description:

Personnel: Hank Penny (vocals, guitar); Hank Penny; Louis Dumont, Louis Dumont (vocals, tenor banjo); Carl Stewart (vocals, fiddle, piano, double bass); Sheldon Bennett, Sheldon Bennett (vocals, fiddle); Jimmy Colvard, Sammy Forsmark, Sammy Forsmark (steel guitar); Eddie Smith (harmonica); Kelland Clark (accordion); Noel Boggs, Eddie Duncan (steel guitar); Boudleaux Bryant (fiddle).
Audio Remasterer: Charlie Crump.
Liner Note Author: Kevin Coffey.
Recording information: Charlotte, NC (11/09/1938-06/29/1941); Chicago, IL (11/09/1938-06/29/1941); Columbia, SC (11/09/1938-06/29/1941); Gayoso Hotel, Memphis, TN (11/09/1938-06/29/1941).
Flamin' Mamie contains early cuts from the underappreciated Western swing bandleader Hank Penny recorded between 1938 and 1941. The 28 tracks combine traditional country music with swing-oriented jazz on such excellent standouts as "Steel Guitar Polka," "Off to Honolulu," "Black Eyed Susie," "You're So Different," and "Flamin' Mamie," with prominent nimble interplay from Sheldon Bennett on fiddle, Louis Dumont on banjo, and Sammy Forsmark on steel guitar throughout. This is a fine companion piece to Krazy Kat's 1999 Hank Penny compilation, Hollywood Western Swing 1944-1947. ~ Al Campbell

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Hank Penny

Product Info

  • UPC: 008637603120
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)