Jethro Tull Benefit [Deluxe Edition] (2-CD + DVD)

Benefit [Deluxe Edition] (2-CD + DVD)
Price: $28.78
List Price: $31.98
You Save: $3.20 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  38QQX
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: Rhino / Parlophone

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 11/01, p.139
4 out of 5 stars - "...A steady consolidation of its predecessor....File not alongside Yes or ELP but Fairport Convention and The Crazy World OF Arthur Brown..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.With You There to Help Me (2013 Stereo Mix)
  • 2.Nothing To Say (2013 Stereo Mix)
  • 3.Alive And Well And Living In (2013 Stereo Mix)
  • 4.Son (2013 Stereo Mix)
  • 5.For Michael Collins, Jeffrey And Me (2013 Stereo Mix)
  • 6.To Cry You A Song (2013 Stereo Mix)
  • 7.Time For Everything, A (2013 Stereo Mix)
  • 8.Inside (2013 Stereo Mix)
  • 9.Play In Time (2013 Stereo Mix)
  • 10.Sossity You're A Woman (2013 Stereo Mix)
  • 11.Singing All Day (2013 Stereo Mix)
  • 12.Sweet Dream (2013 Stereo Mix)
  • 13.17 (2013 Stereo Mix)
  • 14.Teacher (UK Stereo) [2013 Mix]
  • 15.Teacher (US Stereo) [2013 Mix]

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Singing All Day (Mono) [2013 Remastered]
  • 2.Sweet Dream (Mono)
  • 3.17 (Mono)
  • 4.Sweet Dream (Stereo)
  • 5.17
  • 6.Witch's Promise (Mono)
  • 7.Teacher (UK Version) [Mono]
  • 8.Teacher (US Version) [Mono]
  • 9.Witch's Promise
  • 10.Teacher (UK Stereo)
  • 11.Teacher (US Version)
  • 12.Inside (Mono)
  • 13.Alive And Well And Living In
  • 14.Time For Everything, A (Mono)
  • 15.Reprise FM Radio Spot 1 (Stereo)
  • 16.Reprise FM Radio Spot 2 (Stereo)

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.With You There To Help Me [DVD Audio]
  • 2.Nothing To Say [DVD Audio]
  • 3.Alive And Well And Living In [DVD Audio]
  • 4.Son [DVD Audio]
  • 5.For Michael Collins, Jeffrey And Me [DVD Audio]
  • 6.To Cry You A Song [DVD Audio]
  • 7.A Time For Everything [DVD Audio]
  • 8.Inside [DVD Audio]
  • 9.Play In Time [DVD Audio]
  • 10.Sossity You're A Woman [DVD Audio]
  • 11.Singing All Day [DVD Audio]
  • 12.Sweet Dream [DVD Audio]
  • 13.17 [DVD Audio]
  • 14.Teacher (UK Stereo) [DVD Audio]
  • 15.Teacher (US Stereo) [DVD Audio]

Product Description:

Jethro Tull: Ian Anderson (vocals, flute); Martin Barre (electric guitar); John Evans (keyboards); Glenn Cornick (bass); Clive Bunker (drums).
Additional personnel: John Evan (piano, organ).
Producer: Ian Anderson.
Reissue producers: Jo Brooks, Nigel Reeve.
Principally recorded at Morgan Studios, London, England. Includes liner notes by Ian Anderson.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Personnel: Ian Anderson (vocals, guitar, balalaika, flute); Martin Barre (guitar); John Evan (piano, organ); Clive Bunker (drums).
Audio Mixer: Steven Wilson.
Audio Remasterer: Denis Blackham.
Liner Note Authors: Steven Wilson; Terry Ellis .
Recording information: Morgan Studio, London.
Photographers: Wolfgang Heilemann; Ruan O'Lochlainn; Jennie Anderson; Eric Brooks.
Tull's third album finds them pulling definitively away from their blues-rock beginnings and heading towards the folk-influenced prog-rock that would become their trademark. It captures a brief, crucial moment in the band's life. They hadn't yet adopted the complex, medieval-oriented approach of their most famous works, but they had progressed enough to record some of Ian Anderson's most unpretentious, personal and affecting songs. Instead of courtly prog-rock or Cream-ish electric blues, BENEFIT is full of visceral, electrified folk-rock. The light, acoustic-flavored "With You There to Help Me" and "Inside" are full of thoughtful passion. The harder-edged "To Cry You a Song" and "Teacher" are examples of Tull's ever-present way with a hooky riff. For those distrustful of fancy time signatures and complex song suites, a strong case could be made for BENEFIT as Tull's most satisfying effort.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Jethro Tull

Product Info

  • UPC: 825646413270
  • Shipping Weight: 0.40/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)