New Christy Minstrels Merry Christmas! The Complete Columbia Christmas Recordings 1963-1966

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Item:  RLGM 400198
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

CD Details

  • Label: Real Gone Music


  • 1.Beautiful City
  • 2.Tell It on the Mountain
  • 3.One Star
  • 4.Christmas Wishes
  • 5.The Shepherd Boy
  • 6.Sing Hosanna, Hallelujah
  • 7.Sing Along with Santa
  • 8.It'll Be a Merry Christmas
  • 9.Tell Me
  • 10.A Christmas World
  • 11.Parson Brown (Our Christmas Dinner)
  • 12.Christmas Trees
  • 13.Snow in the Streets / Joseph Dearest Joseph Mine / Wassail, Wassail
  • 14.Erev Shel Shoshanim [An Evening of Roses]
  • 15.Do You Hear What I Hear?
  • 16.White Christmas
  • 17.We Need A Little Christmas
  • 18.Silver Bells
  • 19.Christmas Card
  • 20.Sleigh Ride
  • 21.The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting On an Open Fire)
  • 22.Here We Come A-Caroling
  • 23.O Holy Night
  • 24.O Bambino (One Cold and Blessed Winter)
  • 25.Il Est Ne'
  • 26.The Little Drummer Boy
  • 27.Lullay My Liking
  • 28.Silent Night

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Tom Pickles.
The most aggressively cheerful group to rise from the folk music boom of the late '50s/early '60s, the New Christy Minstrels were the sort of act destined to make a Christmas album -- they were always eager to embrace traditional show business tropes and they weren't afraid to play the sentimental card, and making a holiday album is just what sentimental show biz types do. Actually, during the 1960s the New Christy Minstrels made two Christmas albums, which have been paired up on this release from Real Gone Music, and a spin of the disc tells us a lot about the group and the shifts in the world of commercial folk music in the '60s. The 12 cuts from 1963's Merry Christmas! were recorded when the NCM were at their commercial peak, and the performances typify their approach of the time: tight massed harmonies, a small army of guitarists and banjo players, and an air of good cheer even when the group was at its most earnest. The biggest surprise is that the album shies away from familiar Christmas tunes in favor of original material, most of it written by group founder Randy Sparks and sounding more contemplative than one might expect. By 1966, the folk boom was over, Sparks had sold the rights to the group, and Christmas with the Christies reflected their new status as a polished pop vocal ensemble, capable of turning out slick easy listening versions of current hits (or, in this case, well-remembered songs of the season), with only the occasional banjo as a reminder of their days as accessible folkies. (And while the name didn't change, the minstrels had; the Christies always had a high turnover, and not a single person appears on both Merry Christmas! and Christmas with the Christies.) The approach of these two albums is different enough to make the transition a bit jarring at the midway point, but in both forms the NCM were thoroughly professional, and if these performances prize skill over inspiration, the singers are never less than expert and the harmonies and vocal arrangements are truly impressive. For this package, Real Gone has included five bonus tracks (two from out of print compilations, the others session outtakes), as well as detailed liner notes by Tom Pickles. If you're a fan of vintage Christmas sounds and/or artifacts of the pre-singer/songwriter folk era, this New Christy Minstrels release serves its purpose as well as anyone could hope. ~ Mark Deming

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Product Groupings:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for New Christy Minstrels

Product Info:

  • UPC: 848064001980
  • Shipping Weight: 0.23/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item