Woody Guthrie American Radical Patriot (6-CD + DVD + 7" + Book)

American Radical Patriot (6-CD + DVD + 7" + Book)
19 copies available
Price: $125.98
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (8 Discs)
sku:  38FSD
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 8
  • Released:
  • Label: Rounder

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Lost Train
  • 2.Growing Up In Oklahoma
  • 3.The Railroad Blues
  • 4.More Talk of Growing Up In Okemah
  • 5.The Gang of Kids Woody Hung Around With
  • 6.Rye Whiskey
  • 7.Some Old-Time Square Dance Tunes
  • 8.Old Joe Clark
  • 9.Alan Lomax Asks For a Tune
  • 10.Beaumont Rag
  • 11.Alan Asks For Another One
  • 12.Green Valley Waltz
  • 13.The Troubles and Tragedies That Fractured Woody's Family In Okemah
  • 14.Greenback Dollar
  • 15.Lomax Asks About the Boll Weevil
  • 16.Boll Weevil
  • 17.Jailhouse Songs
  • 18.The Midnight Special
  • 19.When the Great Dust Storm Struck

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.The End of the World
  • 2.So Long, It's Been Good To Know Ya
  • 3.Dust Storms Devastate the Farmland
  • 4.Talking Dust Bowl
  • 5.Migrants Arrive In California
  • 6.Do Re Mi
  • 7.Hard Times
  • 8.Songs About Hard Times
  • 9.Bring Back To Me My Blue-Eyed Boy
  • 10.Songs About Outlaws
  • 11.Billy the Kid
  • 12.Billy the Kid and Pretty Boy Floyd
  • 13.Pretty Boy Floyd
  • 14.Jesse James
  • 15.Jesse James and His Boys
  • 16.Takin' It From the Rich and Givin' It To the Poor
  • 17.Jesus Christ
  • 18.Songs About Bankers
  • 19.The Jolly Banker
  • 20.Another Song About the Depredations of the Bankers
  • 21.I Ain't Got No Home
  • 22.Hundreds of Thousands Made Homeless
  • 23.Dirty Overhauls
  • 24.The Story of Mary Fagan
  • 25.Mary Fagan
  • 26.The Origins of the Song

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.The Origins of the Song [Continued]
  • 2.Chain Around My Leg
  • 3.Let's Sing Some Blues
  • 4.Nine Hundred Miles
  • 5.Worried Man Blues
  • 6.About the Worried Man Blues
  • 7.Lonesome Valley
  • 8.Railroad Blueses
  • 9.Walkin' Down That Railroad Line
  • 10.Interlude
  • 11.Goin' Down the Frisco Line
  • 12.Riding the Rails
  • 13.Going Down the Road
  • 14.Interlude 2
  • 15.Seven Cent Cotton
  • 16.Wish I'd Stayed In the Wagon Yard
  • 17.Interlude 3
  • 18.Dust Bowl Refugee
  • 19.Contractors Duping the Desperate
  • 20.The Dust Storm of April 14, 1935
  • 21.Dust Storm Disaster

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Breathing In Dust
  • 2.Dust Pneumonia Blues
  • 3.Leaving the Dust Bowl
  • 4.California Blues
  • 5.Jimmie Rodgers
  • 6.Migrants Arriving In California
  • 7.Do Re Mi
  • 8.Refugees Pouring Into California
  • 9.Dust Bowl Refugee
  • 10.California As One of the 48 States
  • 11.Will Rogers Highway
  • 12.The Flood That Took Over 100 Lives
  • 13.Los Angeles New Year's Flood
  • 14.A Good Horse
  • 15.Stewball
  • 16.Interlude 4
  • 17.Stagger Lee
  • 18.Interlude 5
  • 19.One Dime Blues
  • 20.Interlude 6
  • 21.Git Along Little Dogies
  • 22.Interlude 7
  • 23.The Trail To Mexico
  • 24.Gypsy Davy
  • 25.Introducing an Old Song
  • 26.Hard Ain't It Hard

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.Introduction
  • 2.Pastures of Plenty
  • 3.Oregon Trail
  • 4.Roll On Columbia
  • 5.New Found Land
  • 6.Talking Columbia
  • 7.Roll, Columbia, Roll
  • 8.Columbia's Waters
  • 9.Ramblin' Blues
  • 10.It Takes a Married Man To Sing a Worried Song
  • 11.Hard Travelin'
  • 12.The Biggest Thing That Man Has Ever Done
  • 13.Jackhammer Blues
  • 14.Song of the Coulee Dam
  • 15.Grand Coulee Dam
  • 16.Washington Talkin' Blues
  • 17.Ramblin' Round
  • 18.Pastures of Plenty
  • 19.End of My Line
  • 20.The Sinking of the Reuben James
  • 21.Takin' It Eay
  • 22.Reckless Talk

Tracks on Disc 6:

  • 1.The Girl In the Red, White, and Blue
  • 2.Labor For Victory
  • 3.Farmer-Labor Train
  • 4.Jazz In America #93
  • 5.Gitta Long, Mr. Hitler
  • 6.Jazz In America #116
  • 7.Sally, Don't You Grieve
  • 8.Narrator
  • 9.Dig a Hole
  • 10.VD Avenue
  • 11.Intro 1
  • 12.The Veedee Blues
  • 13.Intro 2
  • 14.Blessed and Curst
  • 15.A Case of VD
  • 16.VD Seaman's Letter
  • 17.VD City
  • 18.VD Day
  • 19.A Child of VD
  • 20.V.D. Gunner's Blues
  • 21.Brooklyne Towne
  • 22.Narrator (The Lonesome Traveler - Radio Drama)
  • 23.The Biggest Thing That Man Has Ever Done [From the Columbia Program]
  • 24.The Old Cracked Looking Glass
  • 25.Hard Times In the Durant Jail
  • 26.Empty Boxcar, My Home
  • 27.The Biggest Thing That Man Has Ever Done (Reprise)

Tracks on Disc 7:

  • 1.Roll On Columbia: Woody Guthrie and the Bonneville Power Administration [DVD]

Tracks on Disc 8:

  • 1.VD City [7"]
  • 2.The Biggest Thing That Man Has Ever Done [7"]

Product Description:

Woody Guthrie: Radical American Patriot is a collection of material recorded "in service" of the U.S. Government. Here are his complete Library of Congress interviews and musical performances recorded by Alan Lomax (released in their entirety for the first time); his songs written while employed by the Bonneville Power Administration, including a previously unreleased, minor key version of "Pastures of Plenty"; a set of previously unheard home demonstration recordings of songs made for a late 1940s public health service VD education program; three radio skits, including two for the Office of War Information during the Second World War; and a number of other radio performances made in support of the war effort. It's a sweeping overview both of a transitional period in American history, and of the prolific, multi-faceted life of Woody Guthrie.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Woody Guthrie

Product Info

  • UPC: 011661913820
  • Shipping Weight: 2.08/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 9 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)