The Gibson Brothers Long Way Back Home

Long Way Back Home
9 ratings
Only 7 copies left
Price: $16.18
List Price: $17.98
You Save: $1.80 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  WVR8
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: March 16, 2004
  • Label: Sugarhill


  • 1.Mountain Song
  • 2.Callie's Reel
  • 3.Dreams That End Like This
  • 4.The Way I Feel
  • 5.Ophelia
  • 6.Any Man in His Right Mind
  • 7.Long Way Back Home
  • 8.It's All Right With Me
  • 9.Alone With You
  • 10.I'm Not Wanted Here
  • 11.I Gotta Get Back to You
  • 12.Satan's Jeweled Crown
  • 13.He'd Take Her Back Again
  • 14.East Bound Train - (bonus track)

Product Description:

Gibson Brothers: Leigh Gibson (vocals, guitar); Eric Gibson (vocals, guitar, banjo); Mike Barber (upright bass); Marc MacGlashan (mandolin).
Additional personnel: Jason Carter, Luke Bulla (fiddle); Rob Ickes (dobro); Russ Pahl (steel guitar); Sam Zucchini (percussion); Alan Bartram (background vocals).
Recorded at The Sound Emporium, Nashville, Tennessee on December 1-7, 2003.
The Gibson Brothers have been one of the most consistent folk and bluegrass acts on the circuit since the mid-'90s. Their radical hard country approach to the music stands out in stark contrast to the generic would-be neo-revivalists. Eric and Leigh approach each song, whether it be Kieran Kane's stomping "Mountain Song," Gordon Lightfoot's classic "Long Way Back Home," or their own "I'm Not Wanted Here" with its Earl Scruggs banjosity, with the same elegance and viewpoint -- that this is a living tradition descended from antiquity. This music is not preserved as such; instead, it is sometimes vibrant, alive, joyous, and rolling, and at other times spooky or heartbreaking. In any case, it is music that assents to life and the mountain heritage. Easily their most accomplished outing, Long Way Back Home is the kind of bluegrass record that doesn't get made anymore, with amazing heartfelt singing, popping instrumental breaks, and a freshness that could never exist in a museum of dead legacies. ~ Thom Jurek

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 9 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for The Gibson Brothers

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 103,434
  • UPC: 015891398624
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)