Jay & Kai + 6 / J.J. In Person

Jay & Kai + 6 / J.J. In Person
13 ratings
SALE: $10.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $3.99 (27% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  COL 5677
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Released: July 5, 2004
  • Originally Released: 1995
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Columbia C-892 (1956)
  • Original Album #2: Columbia CS-8009 (1959)

Description by OLDIES.com:

In 1954, J.J. Johnson and Kai Winding, both individually successful trombonists, joined forces and formed a very successful quintet of their own. The first album shows us the magic they worked together. Johnson's stunning live performance capabilities are highlighted on the second album in this collection.


  • 1.Night In Tunisia
  • 2.Piece For Two Trombones
  • 3.Rise 'N' Shine
  • 4.All At Once You Love Her
  • 5.No Moon At All
  • 6.Surrey With The Fringe On Top
  • 7.Peanut Vendor
  • 8.You're My Thrill
  • 9.Jeanne
  • 10.Four Plus Four
  • 11.You Don't Know What Love Is
  • 12.Continental
  • 13.Tune Up
  • 14.Laura
  • 15.Walkin'
  • 16.What Is This Thing Called Love?
  • 17.Misterioso
  • 18.My Old Flame
  • 19.Now's The Time

Product Description:

2 LPs on 1 CD: JAY & KAY + 6 (1956)/J.J. IN PERSON (1958).
JAY & KAY + 6:
Personnel: J.J. Johnson, Kai Winding, Urbie Green, Bob Alexander, Eddie Bert, Jimmy Cleveland (trombone); Bart Varsalone, Tom Mitchell (bass trombone); Hank Jones (piano); Milt Hinton (bass); Osie Johnson (drums).
Recorded in New York, New York in 1956. Includes original release liner notes by George Avakian.
Personnel: J.J. Johnson (trombone); Nat Adderly (cornet); Tommy Flanagan (piano); Wilbur Little (bass); Albert Heath (drums).
Recorded live in Rochester, New York in May 1958. Includes original release liner notes by Charles Edward Smith.
Personnel: J.J. Johnson (trombone); Kai Winding (trombone); Nat Adderley (cornet); Robert Alexander , Eddie Bert, Jimmy Cleveland, Urbie Green (trombone); Bart Varaslone, Tommy Mitchell (bass trombone); Hank Jones , Tommy Flanagan (piano); Albert "Tootie" Heath, Osie Johnson (drums); Candido Camero (congas, bongos).
Liner Note Authors: George Avakian; Charles Edward Smith.
Arrangers: Kai Winding; J.J. Johnson .
Two of J.J. Johnson's Columbia albums on one compact disc. The first teams up Johnson with Kai Winding and six other trombonists for an octet that truly swings on numbers like "Night in Tunisia," "Piece for Two Tromboniums," and "The Surrey With a Fringe on Top." The second album, J.J. in Person, captures a live 1958 date with his quintet playing their hearts out on "Laura," "Walkin'," "What Is This Thing Called Love," Bird's "Now's the Time," and Monk's "Misterioso." Johnson is in top form on both albums, and his onstage introductions add a personable touch to the live material. A two-fer that really works. ~ Cub Koda

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 13 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for J.J. Johnson

Product Info

  • UPC: 090431567722
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)