The Four Preps Collector's Series

Collector's Series
16 ratings
SALE: $10.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $3.99 (27% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  COL 5673
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 1996
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

The Four Preps were a wholesome, clean-cut group who had 13 chart hits between 1956 and 1964. A Capitol Records scout discovered them while they were performing at a Hollywood High talent show. Among their biggest hits included in this 20-track collection are "26 Miles (Santa Catalina)", "Big Man", and "Down By The Station (Early In The Morning)". One of the Preps, Glen Larson, later became the well-known TV producer of "McCloud", "Quincy", "Battlestar Gallactica", "Magnum P.I.", "The Fall Guy" and others.


  • 1.Dreamy Eyes
  • 2.26 Miles (Santa Catalina)
  • 3.Big Man
  • 4.Lazy Summer Night
  • 5.Summertime Lies
  • 6.Cinderella
  • 7.I Ain't Never
  • 8.Down By The Station (Early In The Morning)
  • 9.Got A Girl
  • 10.More Money For You And Me
  • 11.Seine
  • 12.Big Drift
  • 13.Charmaine
  • 14.A Letter To The Beatles
  • 15.I've Known You All My Life
  • 16.I'll Never Be The Same
  • 17.Girl In The Shade Of The Striped Umbrella
  • 18.Let's Call It A Day Girl
  • 19.Love Of The Common People
  • 20.Draftdodger Rag

Product Description:

Personnel: Bruce Belland (tenor); Glen A. Larson (baritone); Ed Cobb (bass voice).
Audio Remasterers: Ron Furmanek; Larry Walsh.
Audio Remixers: Ron Furmanek; Larry Walsh.
Liner Note Authors: Ron Furmanek; Bruce Belland; Steve Kolanjian.
Recording information: Capitol Recording Studios, Hollywood, CA (09/14/1956-04/20/1967); Capitol Studios, Hollywood, CA (09/14/1956-04/20/1967); North Hollywood High School, Hollywood, CA (09/14/1956-04/20/1967).
Director: Lincoln Mayorga.
Photographer: Larry DuPont.
Unknown Contributor Roles: Joe Maphis; Morty Corb; Van Alexander & His Orchestra.
Arrangers: Dave Guard; Al DeLory; Leon Russell; Perry Botkin, Jr.; Ray Pohlman.
All the Four Preps you'll ever need, on a 20-track compilation. Every one of their Top 40 hits is here, as are many smaller hits and unfamiliar songs, including their last chart hit, "A Letter to the Beatles." ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Collectables Records

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 16 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for The Four Preps

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 6,243
  • UPC: 090431567326
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Collectables Records - Audio CDs:

Collectables Records Labels:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)