Buddy Johnson Rockin' N' Rollin' - Featuring Ella Johnson

Rockin' N' Rollin' - Featuring Ella Johnson
7 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  COL 5664
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1995
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by OLDIES.com:

Known as "The King of the One-Nighters" as he racked up hundreds of thousands of miles on the road, pianist Buddy Johnson was also a celebrated songwriter. He penned the classic "Since I Fell For You." His sister Ella, recognized as one of the great modern blues singers, was often his lead vocalist. This selection, which features many songs from their "Rock 'N' Roll Stage Show" album, showcases them at their swinging best.


  • 1.I Don't Want Nobody (To Have My Love But You)
  • 2.Doot Doot Dow
  • 3.Bring It Home To Me
  • 4.You Got It Made
  • 5.A Pretty Girl (A Cadillac And Some Money)
  • 6.Any Day Now
  • 7.It's Obdacious
  • 8.Crazy 'Bout A Saxophone
  • 9.Upside Your Head, (Gotta Go)
  • 10.Ain't But One
  • 11.A-12
  • 12.I'm Just Your Fool
  • 13.Well, Do It
  • 14.It Used To Hurt Me

Product Description:

Personnel: Buddy Johnson (vocals); Ella Johnson (vocals).
Liner Note Author: Mark Marymont.
Four of Buddy Johnson's six R&B hits on Mercury can be found on this 14-song collection that is drawn in part from the album Rock 'n' Roll Stage Show. Several tracks feature vocals by Johnson's sassy sibling, Ella, whose no-nonsense personality comes through on songs like "(Gotta Go) Upside Your Head." These recordings from the mid-'50s tend toward brassy R&B rave-ups that range from the honking instrumental "A-12" to the near doo wop of "Bring It Home to Me." "I'm Just Your Fool" is Johnson's big hit here, but the comparably successful "Hittin' on Me" is omitted. Rockin' n' Rollin' isn't exactly a greatest-hits collection, but is a worthwhile reissue since Johnson's Mercury and Wing recordings are otherwise scarce on CD. ~ Greg Adams
Collectables Records - Audio CDs

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.4
Based on 7 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Buddy Johnson

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 55,718
  • UPC: 090431566428
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)