The Country Gentlemen Sugar Hill Collection

Sugar Hill Collection
1 rating
Price: $16.18
List Price: $17.98
You Save: $1.80 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  G5K8
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: July 18, 1995
  • Originally Released: 1995
  • Label: Sugarhill

Entertainment Reviews:

Dirty Linen - 4-5/96, p.95
" appreciation of traditional bluegrass and a taste for 'newgrass,' a more progressive style that perched them at the edge of rock/pop culture..."


  • 1.Come and Sit by the River
  • 2.Meet Me Over on the Other Side
  • 3.The Likes of You
  • 4.Darby's Castle
  • 5.Sit Down Young Stranger
  • 6.It's Just Like Heaven
  • 7.For the First Time
  • 8.South Elm Street
  • 9.Blue Ridge Mountains Turning Green
  • 10.The Lonely Dancer
  • 11.Riverboat Fantasy
  • 12.God's Coloring Book
  • 13.River Bottom
  • 14.Coal, Black Gold
  • 15.The "In" Crowd
  • 16.Electricity
  • 17.I'm Lonesome Without You
  • 18.Loving Her Was Easier (Than Anything I'll Ever Do Again)
  • 19.Things in Life
  • 20.Honey Don't

Product Description:

Personnel: Doyle Lawson (vocals, guitar, mandolin, fiddle); Charlie Waller (vocals, guitar, tuned glass); Kent Dowell (vocals, guitar, banjo, percussion); Rick Allred (vocals, dobro, mandolin); James Baily (vocals, banjo); Bill Yates (vocals, acoustic bass); Mike Auldridge (dobro); Spider Gilliam (acoustic bass); Ed Ferris (bass); Ronnie Bucke (drums).
Producers: Barry Poss, The Country Gentlemen.
Engineers: Ronnie Bucke (tracks 1-10); Bill McElroy (tracks 11-20).
Recorded at Track Recorders, Silver Spring, Maryland and Bias Studios, Springfield, Virginia. Tracks 1-10 originally released on Sugarhill Records (3712) and Tracks 11-20 originally released on Sugarhill Records (3723).
Digitally remastered by David Glasser (Airshow, Springfield, Virginia).
Personnel: Kent Dowell (vocals, tenor, guitar, banjo); Charlie Waller (vocals, guitar); Doyle Lawson (tenor, guitar, mandolin, fiddle); Bill Yates (baritone, bass voice, acoustic bass); Rick Allred (baritone, dobro, mandolin); James Bailey (baritone, banjo); Mike Auldridge (dobro); Spider Gillam (acoustic bass); Ronnie Bucke (drums).
Audio Remasterer: David Glasser.
Recording information: Bias Recording Company, Springfield, VA; Track Recorders, Silver Spring, MD.
Photographer: Carl Fleischhauer.
As the title suggests, Sugar Hill Collection compiles the highlights from the Country Gentlemen's recordings for the independent label Sugar Hill. Although these were made later in their career, the group sounds as good as they ever have. ~ Thom Owens

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Country Gentlemen

Product Info

  • UPC: 015891220727
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)