Jack Cooke Sittin' on Top of the World

Sittin' on Top of the World
3 ratings
Only 9 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $11.70 Limited Time Only
List Price: $13.99
You Save: $2.29 (16% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  G5JK
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: February 20, 2007
  • Label: Pinecastle


  • 1.Gotta Travel On
  • 2.I'm Walking the Dog
  • 3.That's How the Cookie Crumbles
  • 4.Let's All Go Down to the River
  • 5.North to Alaska
  • 6.Dark Hollow
  • 7.Long Black Veil
  • 8.My Little Georgia Rose
  • 9.On and On
  • 10.Sittin' on Top of the World
  • 11.Seven Year Blues
  • 12.There's a Higher Power
  • 13.Sugar Coated Love
  • 14.Let Me Rest at the End of My Journey
  • 15.I've Always Been a Rambler

Product Description:

Personnel: Jack Cooke (vocals, guitar); Jim Lauderdale (baritone, bass voice); Ralph Stanley II (baritone); Del McCoury, James Alan Shelton (guitar); Rob McCoury, Steve Sparkman (banjo); David Grisman, Ronnie McCoury (mandolin); Billy Sage, Todd Meade (fiddle).
Audio Mixer: Alan Maggard.
Recording information: Ark Recording Studio, Cincinnati, OH (10/1963); Jeff Sterling Studio, Pengrove, CA (10/1963); Maggard Sound Studio, Big Stone Gap, VA (10/1963); Moondog Studio, Nashville, TN (10/1963).
Photographer: Jim McGuire .
A singer doesn't really need a long r‚sum‚ if he's performed in Ralph Stanley's Clinch Mountain Boys for 37 years. Standing this close to bluegrass royalty (an oxymoron if there ever was one) says all that needs to be said: Jack Cooke is the real deal. Like Stanley, Cooke loves the old-time, traditional sound, filled with lots of rough edges that create something one might refer to as mountain soul. Cooke's rough-hewn vocals, backed by an impressive who's who of bluegrass notables, take the listener back to the '40s and '50s when the genre was dominated by traditional singers like Jim & Jesse and Flatt & Scruggs. Much of the material likewise offers a glance toward yesterday, with well-loved songs like "North to Alaska," "Dark Hollow," and "Long Black Veil." Cooke picks at least one song that, lyrically, may produce unintended chuckles. It's difficult for anyone, no matter how much hurt he puts into his vocal, to make a line like "that's how the cookie crumbles" (from Jim Lauderdale's song of the same name) seem tenderhearted. There are also two bonus tracks from 1963, which help push the disc to an acceptable album length (around 38 minutes). For folks sick to death of smooth-toned bluegrass crooners, Cooke serves as a staunch defender of non-pretentious, down-to-earth bluegrass. ~ Ronnie D. Lankford, Jr.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Sale Items:

Product Info

  • UPC: 755757115728
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)