Leon Chappel Western Swing Chronicles, Volume 2

Western Swing Chronicles, Volume 2
2 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $13.78 Limited Time Only
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $2.20 (14% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  WW9C
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: August 13, 2002
  • Label: Origin Jazz


  • 1.Triflin' Woman Blues
  • 2.Just Because
  • 3.Who Walks in When I Walk Out
  • 4.No Mama Blues
  • 5.Bugle Call Rag
  • 6.Too Good to Be True
  • 7.Wonderful Child
  • 8.Texas Plains
  • 9.Baby Won't You Come Along
  • 10.Ben Wheeler Stomp
  • 11.Angry
  • 12.Red Hot Mama From Way Out West
  • 13.Hang Out the Front Door Key
  • 14.Kansas City Blues
  • 15.Milenburg Joys
  • 16.I Never Knew
  • 17.It's All Coming Home to You
  • 18.China Boy
  • 19.Trouble in Mind
  • 20.Crawdad Song
  • 21.She's Got Me Worried
  • 22.Mr. And Mrs. Is the Name
  • 23.Deep Elm Blues
  • 24.White River Stomp
  • 25.You're in My Heart to Stay
  • 26.I'm a Do Right Papa
  • 27.Too Good to Be True

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Leon Chappelear (vocals, guitar); Bob Attlesey (vocals, ukelele, jug); Joe Attlesey (vocals, mandolin); Jimmie Davis (vocals); Carl Rainwater (steel guitar); Howard Oliver (tenor banjo); Lonnie Hall, J.R. Chatwell (fiddle); Speck Harrison (alto saxophone, clarinet); Johnny Harvey, Hugh Berry (clarinet); Archie Laurent (piano).
Producers: Cary Ginell, Michael Kieffer.
Recorded between 1932 & 1937. Includes liner notes by Cary Ginell.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Personnel: Gene Sullivan, Leon Chappelear (vocals, guitar); Joe Shelton (vocals, mandolin); Bob Shelton (vocals, ukulele); Jimmie Davis (vocals); Howard Oliver (tenor banjo); Lonnie Hall, J.R. Chatwell (fiddle).
Liner Note Author: Cary Ginell.
Recording information: Chicago, IL (09/13/1932-12/12/1937); Dallas, TX (09/13/1932-12/12/1937); New Orleans, LA (09/13/1932-12/12/1937); Richmond, IN (09/13/1932-12/12/1937).
Arranger: Leon Chappelear.
For a time during 1932-1935, Leon Chappelear (an appealing singer and guitarist) was one of the top bandleaders in Western swing, combining together early country music with jazz. Chappelear's Lone Star Cowboys were popular in the south, growing to be a sextet with two guitars, fiddle, clarinet, banjo, and bass. But a car accident on September 13, 1935, caused Chappelear some brain damage and, although he survived, he tired easily and a spark was lost in his performances. He continued on until 1938 and then spent the rest of his life until his death in 1962 working odd jobs and hoping against hope to make a comeback in music. Long forgotten, Leon Chappelear has now had his best recordings reissued on this single CD. Consisting of 27 performances from 1932-1938, the set features such numbers as "Just Because," "Who Walks in When I Walk Out," "Bugle Call Rag," "Ben Wheeler Stomp," "Angry," "Milenburg Joys," and "Deep Elm Blues." Although some of the clarinet solos in the later recordings are erratic, the music overall is quite enjoyable and reminiscent of Bob Wills' Texas Playboys. Highly recommended to Western swing collectors. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Sale Items:
Get Email Alerts for Leon Chappel

Product Info

  • UPC: 784554100125
  • Shipping Weight: 0.23/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)