Gene McDaniels Best of Gene McDaniels - A Hundred Pounds of Clay

Best of Gene McDaniels - A Hundred Pounds of Clay
5 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  COL 5646
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1995
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

Gene McDaniels is still remembered as one of the leading Pop-flavored R&B vocalists of his day. He scored his biggest hit in 1961 with "A Hundred Pounds of Clay" and then followed it up with the just as popular "Tower of Strength". All his charted material is here along with rarities and extensive liner notes.


  • 1.A Hundred Pounds Of Clay
  • 2.Come On Take A Chance (Take A Chance On Love)
  • 3.Curiosity (Previously Unreleased)
  • 4.A Tear
  • 5.Tower Of Strength
  • 6.He's Got My Sympathy
  • 7.A Miracle
  • 8.Master Puppeteer (Previously Unreleased)
  • 9.Chip Chip
  • 10.Another Tear Falls
  • 11.Point Of No Return
  • 12.Spanish Lace
  • 13.Blow Out The Sun (Previously Unreleased)
  • 14.Laugh Right In My Face (Previously Unreleased)
  • 15.Run Around (Previously Unreleased)
  • 16.Puzzle
  • 17.You Were Sent For Me To Love (Previously Unreleased)
  • 18.It's A Lonely Town (Lonely Without You)
  • 19.False Friends
  • 20.Strange Neighborhood (Previously Unreleased)
  • 21.Anyone Else
  • 22.(There Goes) The Forgotten Man
  • 23.Walk With A Winner
  • 24.Will It Last Forever
  • 25.Hang On (Just A Little Bit Longer)

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Gene McDaniels (vocals); The Johnny Mann Singers (background vocals).
Producers: Dave Pell, Snuff Garrett, Joe Saraceno.
Compilation producer: Ron Furmanek.
Recorded at United/Western Studios, Custom Studios and Sunset Sound Studios, Hollywood, Los Angeles. Includes liner notes by Joseph F. Laredo.
Personnel: Gene McDaniels (vocals); Johnny Mann Singers (background vocals).
Audio Remasterer: Kevin Reeves.
Audio Remixers: Kevin Reeves; Ron Furmanek.
Liner Note Author: Joseph F. Laredo.
Recording information: Custom Studios, Hollywood, CA (01/??/1961-08/16/1965); Sunset Sound Studios, Hollywood, CA (01/??/1961-08/16/1965); United (01/??/1961-08/16/1965); Western Studios, Hollywood, CA (01/??/1961-08/16/1965).
Photographers: Jeffrey Scales; Michael Ochs.
Arrangers: Ernie Freeman; Gene Page; Hank Levine; Jack Nitzsche; Perry Botkin, Jr.
Gene McDaniels' impressive vocals make songs like "Point of No Return," "Tower of Strength," "Chip Chip," and the title track, "A Hundred Pounds of Clay," into true classics. Surrounded by appropriately applied brass and strings and underpinned by solid rhythms, everything here feels like a long-lost treasure. This same set has been issued a couple of times over, but it's the songs that count, so it doesn't really matter which version you pick up. ~ Steve Leggett
Collectables Records - Audio CDs

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.8
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Gene McDaniels

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 51,631
  • UPC: 090431564622
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)