Milton Brown Complete Recordings of the Father of Western Swing 1932-37 (5-CD Box Set)

Complete Recordings of the Father of Western
1 rating
Price: $72.88
List Price: $80.98
You Save: $8.10 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (5 Discs)
sku:  36SYE
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 5
  • Released: January 23, 1996
  • Label: Texas Rose

Entertainment Reviews:

Musician - 11/96, 90
" [a] brief time he defined the conventions of Western swing with his band....fuses a wildly eclectic mix of popular tunes from the New York stage, vaudeville, and even minstrel shows...with hot jazz, blues, and hokum numbers....This diverse music was performed by a group that excelled at jazzy improvisation..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Sunbonnet Sue
  • 2.Nancy Jane
  • 3.Brownie's Stomp
  • 4.Joe Turner Blues
  • 5.Oh! You Pretty Woman
  • 6.My Precious Sonny Boy
  • 7.Swinging on the Garden Gate
  • 8.Do the Hula Lou
  • 9.Garbage Man Blues
  • 10.Four, Five or Six Times
  • 11.Where Youe Been So Long, Corrine?
  • 12.Talking About You
  • 13.Just Sitting on Top of the World
  • 14.Take It Slow and Easy
  • 15.Get Along, Cindy
  • 16.Trinity Waltz
  • 17.Loveland and You
  • 18.This Morning, This Evening, So Soon
  • 19.Girl of My Dreams
  • 20.Loveless Love
  • 21.Put on Your Old Grey Bonnet
  • 22.Pray For the Lights to Go Out
  • 23.In el Rancho Grande

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Down by the O-Hi-O
  • 2.I Love You
  • 3.Sweet Jennie Lee
  • 4.A Good Man Is Hard to Find
  • 5.St. Louis Blues
  • 6.The Object of My Affection
  • 7.Love in Bloom
  • 8.Chinatown, My Chinatown
  • 9.Copenhagen
  • 10.Brownie Special
  • 11.Some of These Days
  • 12.Wabash Blues
  • 13.Beautiful Texas
  • 14.Just a Dream
  • 15.Cheesy Breeze
  • 16.Who's Sorry Now
  • 17.One of Us Was Wrong
  • 18.The House at the End of the Lane
  • 19.My Mary
  • 20.You're Tired of Me
  • 21.I'll Be Glad When You're Dead You Rascal You
  • 22.Sweet Georgia Brown
  • 23.Shine On, Harvest Moon

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.You're Bound to Look Like a Monkey
  • 2.Wheezie Anna
  • 3.Taking Off
  • 4.Darktown Strutters' Ball
  • 5.Crafton Blues
  • 6.Black and White Rag
  • 7.In the Shade of the Old Apple Tree
  • 8.Little Betty Brown
  • 9.Going up Brushy Fork
  • 10.Somebody's Been Using That Thing
  • 11.The Sheik of Araby
  • 12.Beale Street Mama
  • 13.Mama Don't Allow It
  • 14.Our Baby Boy
  • 15.Mexicali Rose
  • 16.Stay on the Right Side Sister
  • 17.If You Can't Get Five, Take Two
  • 18.Cielito Lindo :: Beautiful Heaven
  • 19.The Waltz You Saved For Me
  • 20.The Eyes of Texas
  • 21.I Had Someone Before I Had You (And I'll Have Someone After You're Gone)
  • 22.I've Got the Blues For Mammy
  • 23.Texas Hambone Blues
  • 24.Easy Ridin' Papa
  • 25.Am I Blue?

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.The Wheel of the Wagon Is Broken
  • 2.Memphis Blues
  • 3.Somebody Stole My Gal
  • 4.Under the Double Eagle
  • 5.Washington and Lee Swing
  • 6.When I'm Gone Don't You Grieve
  • 7.The Sweetheart of Sigma Chi
  • 8.Old Water Mill by a Waterfall, An
  • 9.Hesitation Blues
  • 10.Avalon
  • 11.Sadie Green (The Vamp of New Orleans)
  • 12.Show Me the Way to Go Home
  • 13.The Yellow Rose of Texas
  • 14.The Roseland Melody
  • 15.My Galveston Gal
  • 16.Yes Sir!
  • 17.La Golondrina
  • 18.When I Take My Sugar to Tea
  • 19.Song of the Wanderer
  • 20.Right or Wrong
  • 21.Chinese Honeymoon
  • 22.Alice Blue Gown
  • 23.Fan It
  • 24.Tired of the Same Thing All the Time

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.I'll String Along With You
  • 2.Goofus
  • 3.Ida Sweet as Apple Cider
  • 4.When It's Harvest Time, Sweet Angeline
  • 5.Carry Me Back to the Lone Prairie
  • 6.A Thousand Goodnights
  • 7.Keep a Knockin'
  • 8.Baby Keep Stealin'
  • 9.The Old Grey Mare
  • 10.Confessin' (That I Love You)
  • 11.One Rose, The (That's Left in My Heart)
  • 12.Bring It on Down to My House Honey
  • 13.Louise Louise Blues
  • 14.How Come You Do Me Like You Do
  • 15.High Geared Daddy
  • 16.Honky Tonk Blues
  • 17.Long Long Ago
  • 18.I Can't Give You Anything But Love
  • 19.There'll Be Some Changes Made
  • 20.Rose Room
  • 21.Cross Patch
  • 22.Everybody Loves My Marguerite
  • 23.I Just Wnat Your Stingaree
  • 24.Fall in Line With the NRA
  • 25.The Musical Brownies' Theme Song

Product Description:

& The Musical Brownies.
Personnel includes: Milton Brown (vocals); Bob Dunn (steel guitar); Cliff Bruner, Cecil Brower (fiddle); Fred "Papa" Calhoun (piano).
Includes liner notes by Cary Ginell.
The Complete Recordings of the Father of Western Swing 1932-1937 is exactly what its title suggests -- everything Milton Brown and His Musical Brownies recorded for both Victor and Decca Records, spread out over five compact discs. The very comprehensiveness of the box makes it appealing only to serious country music historians and dedicated fans, but within these five discs is some of the most groundbreaking, influential -- and just plain enjoyable -- popular music of the early 20th century. For those willing to make the investment, it is well-worth the money. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Milton Brown

Product Info

  • UPC: 784554500123
  • Shipping Weight: 1.08/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 5 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)