Collectables Records

The Five Keys Aladdin Years

Aladdin Years
27% OFF
Rating 4.7
8 ratings
List Price: $14.97
Your Price: $10.98
You Save: $3.99 (27% Off)
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown

Save for Later
Format: CD
Item:  COL 5632
on most orders of $50
Brand New
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

Available in a set:

Products with a similar style:

Customers who purchased this item also bought these:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1995
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

This R&B quintet originally formed as the Sentimental Four in the late '40s. After some personnel changes they achieved popularity in the mid to late '50s. The group was equally at home singing ballads and more rhythm driven tunes. You'll find the best of tracks recorded for Aladdin collected here.


  • 1.With A Broken Heart
  • 2.Glory Of Love
  • 3.Yes Sir, That's My Baby
  • 4.Red Sails In The Sunset
  • 5.Be Anything, But Be Mine
  • 6.Mistakes
  • 7.If You Only Knew
  • 8.Hold Me
  • 9.Will My Heart Stand A Chance
  • 10.I Don't Stand A Ghost Of A Chance
  • 11.Can't Keep From Crying
  • 12.Yearning
  • 13.There Ought To Be A Law
  • 14.Mama (Your Daughter Told A Lie On Me)
  • 15.When You're Gone
  • 16.I'll Always Be In Love With You
  • 17.Rocking And Crying Blues
  • 18.These Foolish Things Remind Me Of You
  • 19.Teardrops In Your Eyes
  • 20.My Saddest Hour
  • 21.White Cliffs Of Dover
  • 22.Oh! Babe!
  • 23.Someday Sweetheart
  • 24.Deep In My Heart
  • 25.Story Of Love

Product Description:

The Five Keys include: Rudy West, Bernie West, Ripley Ingram, Richard Smith, Ulysses K. Hicks.
Principally recorded at RCA Studios, New York, New York between 1951 & 1954. Includes liner notes by Steve Kolanjian.
Digitally remastered by Bob Norberg (1990, Capitol Recording Studios, New York, New York).
Personnel: Bernie West, Dickie Smith, Gene Moore , Ramon Loper, Ulysses K. Hicks, Ripley Ingram, Maryland Pierce, Rudy West (vocals).
Liner Note Author: Steve Kolanjian.
Recording information: Nola Recording Studios, New York, NY (03/22/1951/09/23/1953); Radio Recorders, Hollywood, CA (03/22/1951/09/23/1953); RCA Recording Studios, New York, NY (03/22/1951/09/23/1953); WOR STudios, New York, NY (03/22/1951/09/23/1953).
Photographer: Michael Ochs.
Unknown Contributor Roles: Joel Whitburn; The Five Keys.
Although there are a handful of up-tempo numbers here, including one or two like "Mama (Your Daughter Told a Lie on Me)" that are full-bore rock & roll, complete with honking sax, the vast majority of the 25 tracks here, recorded between 1951 and 1954, are slow, sentimental ballads rendered in the proto-doo wop style of the Ink Spots, including a number of pop standards originally recorded by white artists. Standouts include a gorgeously sung version of "The Glory of Love" (their first hit) and the less lugubrious (and more explicit) "Rockin and Cryin Blues."
Collectables Records - Audio CDs

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.7
Based on 8 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for The Five Keys

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 50,275
  • UPC: 090431563229
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)