Dizzy Gillespie Giants (with Bobby Hackett & Mary Lou Williams) / Portrait of Jenny

Giants (with Bobby Hackett & Mary Lou Williams) /
2 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  COL 5616
on most orders of $50+
Brand New
2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1996
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Perception PP-19 (1971)
  • Original Album #2: Perception PP-13 (1970)

Description by OLDIES.com:

For those who require an introduction to Dizzy Gillespie, he was a legendary jazz trumpeter with both large and small bands, a leading exponent of bebop, and a pioneer of Afro-Cuban jazz in the US. Two of his albums are collected together on this single disc; on "Giant," Gillespie is joined by Bobby Hacket and pianist Mary Lou Williams. "Portrait of Jenny" is all of Dizzy's historical recordings.


  • 1.Love For Sale
  • 2.Autumn Leaves
  • 3.Caravan
  • 4.Jitterbug Waltz
  • 5.Willow Weep For Me
  • 6.Birks Works
  • 7.My Man
  • 8.Olinga
  • 9.Diddy Wa Diddy
  • 10.Me'n Them
  • 11.Timet

Product Description:

2 LPs on 1 CD: GIANTS (1971)/PORTRAIT OF JENNY (1970).
Includes liner notes by Mark Marymont.
Personnel: Dizzy Gillespie, Bobby Hackett (trumpet); Mary Lou Williams (piano); George Duvivier (bass); Grady Tate (drums).
Personnel: Dizzy Gillespie (trumpet); Mike Longo (piano); George Davis (guitar); Andrew Gonzalez (bass); Jerry Gonzalez, Carlos Valdes (congas); Nicholas Marrero (timbales).
Personnel: Dizzy Gillespie (trumpet); Bobby Hackett (trumpet); Mary Lou Williams, Mike Longo (piano); Grady Tate (drums); Jerry Gonzalez, Carlos "Patato" Valdes (congas); Nicky Marrero (timbales).
Liner Note Author: Mark Marymont.
Two relatively obscure, but fine, Dizzy Gillespie albums, Giant and Portrait of Jenny, were combined on this single-CD reissue by Collectables. Although the sound and the packaging could be a little better, this still is a fine way for collectors to pick up these two records on disc. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Collectables Records - Audio CDs

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.0
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Dizzy Gillespie

Product Info

  • UPC: 090431561621
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)